Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Fretheim Hotel


    Fretheim Hotel
 in Flam
    Fretheim Hotel
 in Flam

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
988 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Charming Flam

    by Leveric N on 2018-10-04 12:57 am

    The best accomodations found in Flam, decent rooms and average service....nice staff but would highly recommend for Service staff to smile more as this will make the place much warmer ? ..... unfortunately it was rainy when we were here but still a wonderful experience and had a great time.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for you comments. We do in general get very good reviews on our professional and friendly staff. Hope to see you with us again.

    Frode S, Manager at Fretheim Hotel, responded to this review

  • Cute vintage room!

    by K B on 2018-09-19 02:01 pm

    We loved that our room was not "cookie cutter"! It was spacious with antique furniture. The bathroom was a throwback with black and white tile and a claw foot tub. The view was fantastic, we looked directly of the fjord. It was clean and well done...don't need more than that. Even better...no TV! With beauty around everywhere get outside!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your comments ! We are happy to hear that you appreciated the TV-free historical room and also managed to soak in some of the wonderful outdoor environment we have here in Fl?m.

    Frode S, Manager at Fretheim Hotel, responded to this review

  • Lovely hotel with WONDERFUL service and fantastic buffets

    by ellenhud1 on 2018-09-15 09:10 am

    I have nothing but positives to say about the Fretheim. Room was great, loads of help and suggestions from the front desk staff and the buffet was wonderful and extensive at both dinner and breakfast. My friends and I felt it was quite a deal considering the price of eating out in Norway.
    I also have to offer my immense thanks to the staff. While on the ferry to Balastrand I discovered I'd left my Android charger at the hotel. No replacements in Balastrand so I e-mailed and called the Fretheim. To make a long story short someone on staff walked my charger to the ferry and it was delivered to me by the captain the next afternoon. Lifesaver! My phone is my camera and I was near the start of a two week trip so the Fretheim's kind help was huge to me. I may have been able to find a compatible charger in Bergen but I would have been without my camera for two days and lost time trying to track down the right charger. Thank you so much. Kudos to your responsive staff!

    Owner Response
    Great comments ! We are delighted to help in any way we can and in this case our hospitable staff "went the extra mile" to ensure that your charger was brought to you. Hope that you'll enjoy your travels in Norway and beyond - and welcome back to Fl?m and Fretheim Hotel !

    Frode S, Manager at Fretheim Hotel, responded to this review

  • Beautiful hotel

    by Deborah P on 2018-09-14 07:06 pm

    This is a gorgeous place and the staff are friendly and attentive. The food is excellent. My only complaint would be that bathroom; while it was beautifully appointed, it wasn't very practical and the water from the shower went everywhere BUT inside the bathtub. Still, would recommend this place to anyone.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your comments. Always valueable, for future needs/refurbishing. Hope to see you here again.

    Frode S, Manager at Fretheim Hotel, responded to this review

  • Complacent and grasping

    by Douglas645 on 2018-09-06 07:28 am

    We weren't impressed with this hotel. Only positives were that the food was OK. Dinner buffet was 485 nok from memory.
    However, there were many minuses and the hotel really doesn't match the price tag.
    Room on arrival wasn't made up properly resulting in a walk back to reception to get it sorted.
    Reception staff direct you to the tourist information centre for help booking ferries. Most good hotels would help guests.
    There are no toiletries in the bathroom apart from a liquid soap fixed on the wall. Not what you expect in a top end hotel.
    Matresses soft and need replacing.
    The hotel even charges 35 nok for a bottle of water! Very grasping attitude given the cost of the room. All other Scandinavian hotels we have stayed in this year have all provided free bottled water, hot drinks and pastries.
    The fjord view is normally of an 18 deck cruise liner until they leave at 6pm. We had a view of the car park as well.
    This hotel need to pull its socks up but has no realistic competition.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear that your room was not ready, but good to hear that our staff sorted out the situation. Since we have a professional visitor center in Fl?m (run by the same company as the hotel) we try to direct most requests and excursion bookings through them - located a stone's throw away. We have chosen to mount soap dispensers in the rooms, to lessen the environmental impact. When it comes to the beds we notice that there are different views on how firm/soft the matresses should be, but will take this into consideration next time they are changed. I find it hard to believe that most other Scandinavian hotels give out water bottles, pastries and hot drinks for free. Apart from the occacional cruise ship in the fjord the view is spectacular (most would agree) and there is ample opportunity to walk around the grounds and take in the views of the valley and mountains beyond too.
    Anyway, we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels in Norway and hope you'll have the chance to visit the area again.

    Frode S, Manager at Fretheim Hotel, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.