Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hilton Orrington/Evanston


    Hilton Orrington/Evanston
 in Evanston
    Hilton Orrington/Evanston
 in Evanston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1310 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Poor service at front desk and housekeeping

    by Fellow_Traveler_CA on 2018-10-10 07:59 pm

    We stayed for 7 days at this hotel as part of our 2 week vacation. We called the front desk to ask for bath mat because the tub was slippery and we were told twice to go to the nearby CVS or Target to buy it ourselves. We asked another Hilton hotel in Toronto for a bath mat, and staff brought a new bath mat in less than 30 minutes. It is not uncommon for people to fall in a slippery. Also, our room was not cleaned on a daily basis as requested. Will never stay there again. Hilton Garden Inn was more customer service oriented and cleaner.

    Owner Response
    As General Manager of the hotel I greatly appreciate those individuals that share not only the good aspects of their stay, but also those areas in which we did not meet their expectations. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in the area of overall customer service from the front desk. Any additional information that you can offer me such as when you requested the bath mat, or was your interaction with a male or female would be help so that I may address the issue with them since we do have rubber mats to offer if someone requested one. We hope that you will continue to use the Hilton Brands wherever your travels may take you. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and enjoy the balance of your week.

    Warm Regards,

    Glenn Spanier
    General Manager
    Hilton Orrington-Evanston

    Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review

  • Not what I usually expect from Hilton

    by Amy L on 2018-10-10 01:27 pm

    My daughter and I stayed here for one night while visiting Northwestern . While the location is excellent, the hotel is in major need of a facelift and the service we experienced was mediocre at best. We arrived via uber with 3 suitcases and while there was gentleman outside at a valet stand, he did not offer to help us with our bags. When wheeling our bags in we were barked at by the bell stand attendant to go through a certain door but not offered any assistance. When we later had to check our bags with bell stand, we were again treated to a rude bark. The front desk staff was equally as gruff and not very friendly. When we later got into our room, the first thing we noticed was how tiny the bathroom was and lack of mirrors. IF you have more than one person getting ready, you will need to take turns at the mirror. There were also stains on the shower curtains and the floorboards and walls had stains and marks on them. I agree with the other reviewers who say the rooms on the street (even on the 8th floor) are loud as is the air conditioner. The one bright spot was our dinner at Farmhouse - the food was excellent and the service even better!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your most recent stay with us. As General Manager of the hotel I greatly appreciate those individuals that share not only the good aspects of their stay, but also those areas in which we did not meet their expectations. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations in such areas as overall customer service, and condition of the hotel. One of your biggest challenges with the hotel that was built in 1923 are the small sizes of some of our guest rooms and guest room bathrooms. I have also shared your comments about the poor service with both my Director of Operations, and Front Office Manager. We were also glad to hear that the Farmhouse exceeded your expectations. We hope that you will continue to use the Hilton Brands wherever your travels may take you. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and enjoy the balance of the week.

    Warm Regards,

    Glenn Spanier
    General Manager
    Hilton Orrington-Evanston

    Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review

  • check in and service was poor

    by pposont on 2018-10-09 11:24 am

    The check in experience at this hotel was less than ideal. When we arrived the "computer systems" were down. We were advised to try checking in on the app. I downloaded the app and tried digital key but it said I must go to the front desk first. After 30 minutes the systems were back and we got to the front desk. I checked in 24 hours prior to my stay on level 500 to be near friends/family. The clerk did not say a word and handed me a key with a room number of 805 on it. I asked if it was a King size bed like I had reserved and he stated it was. My wife and I waited for the one working elevator for 10 minutes after that. Once we got to the room we were extremely disappointed. The room was an accessible room with 1 queen size bed. We called the front desk to ask if there were any rooms with King bed like we reserved. After sitting on wait on the phone for 5 minutes we picked up our backs and waited for the 1 working elevator again. We got to the front desk again and asked for a manager. The manager was less than thrilled and was not concerned about our situation or how our experience was up to that point. He did apologize for the room choice but stated he would upgrade us to a "deluxe room". Well we were not expecting a deluxe room, we only wanted a standard king size bedroom which we reserved. We finally arrived at our room 627 to find it was not DELUXE at all. It was the standard king room with no deluxe amenities. Overall very disappointed in the service/experience. We were not compensated at all for any of the wrong doings.

    Owner Response
    Greetings from the Hilton Orrington. As General manager of the hotel I greatly appreciate those individuals that share not only the good aspects of their stay, but also those areas in which we did not meet their expectations. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in the area of checking in process and overall customer service from the desk staff. It is from individuals such as you who share their experience that enable us to correct our shortfalls for future guests. I have reviewed your comments with both my Director of Operations and Front Office Manager to express my concerns as to why the staff did not have their down time reports run so that even though there was an issue Hilton wide with the computers they could have been able to check individuals in manually. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience and enjoy the balance of your week.

    Warm Regards,

    Glenn Spanier
    General Manager
    Hilton Orrington-Evanston

    Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review

  • Great location for visiting Northwestern

    by Betty1908 on 2018-10-08 01:29 pm

    The hotel is older but recently redone. The room was comfortable, with a very nice TV. The only down side was the bathroom was pretty small, but functional. The restaurants were open for a buffet brunch and dinner. Both were good.

    Owner Response
    Many times we only hear the negative aspects of ones stay so your posting was refreshing. We were pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations on any different levels, and are truly honored to have been rated a "5". We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Evanston area. Again, thank you for staying with us and have a great week.

    Warm Regards,

    Glenn Spanier
    General Manager
    Hilton Orrington Evanston.

    Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review

  • Amazing Accommodating Stay

    by Jesse O on 2018-10-08 11:27 am

    We flew in very late to O'hare and we let the front desk know ahead of time we would be late checking in. When we arrived we were surprised that the hotel had upgraded our room free of charge. We had more space than needed but we were beyond happy with how well the hotel was maintained. The staff was amazing and it's located in such a convenient area where there are so many cool places to eat.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for the wonderful review and sharing it with other TripAdvisor readers. We are truly honored to have been rated a "5" and that we exceeded your expectations on so many levels. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Evanston area. Again, thank you for both your business and sharing your experience. Have a great week.

    Warm Regards,

    Glenn Spanier
    General Manager
    Hilton Orrington-Evanston

    Hilton_Orrington, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.