Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

    Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
 in St Andrews
    Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
 in St Andrews


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1859 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Just Fabulous

    by JT2118 on 2018-11-19 06:57 am

    Had booked a last minute trip to celebrate a birthday and treat ourselves. On arrival upgraded to a suite and everything from the front desk to the view from the balcony was first class. Great staff always happy to help especially in Sands Restaurant and at reception. Definitely worth paying that extra bit for a special treat.

  • Afternoon tea

    by Ann W on 2018-11-18 00:52 am

    A very poor experience. A family party of 11 booked for what was billed as award winning afternoon tea.
    The quality of food for such an esteemed hotel was shocking.
    Service was slow. Tea served 15 mins before the plates came out. No refills offered.
    Unlike other top class hotels everything came at once. Nothing was explained. Just placed on the table and left.
    Sandwiches apart from the smoked salmon were dry and tasteless with insipid fillings. An abundance of damp lettuce making them difficult to eat. The vegetarian selection was ONLY egg mayonnaise...Nothing else. When this was pointed out and that egg was the one thing that had not been requested it was replaced 15 mins later with cucumber and cheese and Chutney. Very cheap uninspiring fillings from a top class hotel.
    At no time were we asked if we would prefer brown or white bread.
    The scones were pleasant but the jam was liquid sweet and sticky. Not fresh tasting at all and again no choice of jams/preserves. The clotted cream had been sitting out since our arrival. Very poor.
    The cakes looked and tasted as though most had been sourced from the mini selection at a local supermarket. Most were too sweet and the macaroons had lost texture. They were very soft in contrast with the gingerbread which could have been used as a doorstop.
    We tried politely to have matters rectified and we were advised by the waitress she could do nothing other than requesting us to email the hotel. Hence this very poor review.
    We would have been far better going to a local cafe.
    Very disappointing for a special family occasion .

    Owner Response
    @Ann W - I am very sorry that our afternoon tea experience didn't live up to your expectations. This is exactly the opposite of what we would like our customers to feel when they join us for a special family occassion. I would be really grateful if you could send me your phone number to and we will give you a call to discuss further.

    HelenM5013, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review


    by Christina K on 2018-11-17 07:45 am

    I'm not a golfer so maybe can't give an all round review but the rooms are a good size and perfectly serviceable. Good facilities and very clean. The girls doing the room service were lovely. We did go out of season so maybe the atmosphere wasn't the best but the hotel is the perfect location to explore St. Andrews. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the fourth floor restaurant was good. Excellent views and you aren't rushed to leave. Dinner in the Bistro was a bit soulless but we were the only clients and it was late. The food was OK. Not a particularly charming hotel but it's a huge establishment so the personal touch is difficult. The Jigger Inn was buzzing one evening and then empty the next. Not bad value. No complaints.

  • Not what it says on the label.

    by Excursion57446284898 on 2018-11-14 03:21 am

    We were visiting Scotland from USA for second time and having stayed at the Old Course previously so we decided to try the Fairmont and I am glad we were. Still we decided to pop in and oh dear what a downhill experience from the service received back in March. Perhaps you look down at costumers who don't stay, however this certainly didn't happen in other places we went .
    We arrived and decided to check out the spa as my wife preferred it to the Fairmont. The girl at the desk was dismissive and patronizing, made us feel unwelcome we decided to stop asking for availability. After we went for a drink and top floor bar, which was delicious and the staff was wonderful and fast at up selling the restaurant next door. I now wish we didn't try. Nobody was at the door to greet us, when we finally got seated there seemed to be no one in charge of the dinning room. no check on us or our food, no offer to help with wine list and even the menu seemed poorer. The food in it self was nice, my steak was under cooked and my chips cold but again, there was no interest on our feed-back. We decided to leave without desert and then got a ''thank you'' on departure which seemed rather ironic as it was the ''nicest'' comment coming from the staff the whole meal. There was clearly nobody in charge or with your so called 5star service experience. Having visited this dining room before as residents earlier on this year I can honestly now say change isn't always for the better. Perhaps you cut down on staff because it's winter but you still charge the same prices. Bring back your wine waiter and Head server as you won't go far with such an impersonal service. Shame on you.

    Owner Response
    @Excursion57446284898 - I'm so sorry that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations on this occassion and we certainly do not want our guests and visitors to leave feeling this way. I would be really grateful if you could email me your phone number to and we will give you a call to discuss further. I really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback.

    HelenM5013, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

  • St. Andrews Old course hotel

    by DGrahame on 2018-11-14 02:57 am

    The location is one of the best you can get in St. Andrews If you want to be on the historic golf course
    The hotel accommodations are ok to good and as expedited you pay a premium for the location
    However the Knettles and the Fairmont rooms are more comfortable.
    Overall facilities are good to great
    Only detractors for me were the service which was way below the knettles and below the fairmont
    My room window had to stay closed due to the noise from kitchen Hvac equipment which also vented out deep fry stench- I asked to have a room change and was confronted with hostility towards a legitimate complaints. At the price you expect a better service experience.
    That said the view onto the golf course was great.
    I'd give it a 4 for location and facilities
    A 2 for service and a 3 for food that was ok but not good, honestly food culture in the UK seems way behind that of North America for quality and health focus, the four seasons sets a great food standard , even lesser priced places like the Thompson chain or the W hotels serve A quality food, to bad these folks are behind the curve.


International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.