Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna

    Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
 in Vienna
    Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
 in Vienna


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1269 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Amazing

    by Sam L on 2018-03-21 00:55 am

    Super localisation close to everything, rooms are very modern and spacious, the restaurant in the lobby was really yummy the sea bass was great. Bar is cool and trendy.

    Only ridiculous point is the breakfast for 42 euros !!

  • Good, but..

    by Rama K on 2018-03-19 11:53 am

    I personally like Kempinski hotels and preferably book whenever its possible. This was my first time here so I can only compare to other Kempinski hotels I have stayed in so far.
    Staff is friendly, check in/out process was smooth and fast.
    Room was spacious, nice bathroom with both shower corner and bath tub.
    I was slightly disapointed with breakfast - always enjoyed breakfast at Kempinski hotels but this time I was missing few choices..
    Hotel itself is large and I felt like Im walking in a maze. However spa area is tiny and I would expect at least actual swimming pool not this half size bathroom with jacuzzi filled with cold water. Very disapointed with relax area - all seats were "towel occupied" but there was actually no one using them. Perhaps guests just left without showing courtesy but this should be controlled by staff. So we went back to the room after 5mins here.
    Michelin star restaurant Edvards offers nice dishes, worth trying.
    Overall - satisfied.

  • Had issues that a hotel like this shouldn't have

    by Cronlock on 2018-03-16 05:56 am

    First of all, I am a frequent guest of Kempinski hotels and I was never disappointed....until now.

    When you visit a Kempinski hotel, your expectations are high. In fact, I booked this Kempinski from another one in a different country.
    We stayed at the Ring Suite for 3 nights.
    Check-in and checkout was swift, no issues. Concierge service was up to the task but the rest...not so much.

    Where are Ladies in Red at Palais Hansen Kempinski? As brand ambassadors they should be visible and greet member and VIP guests. I did not see one.

    Doorman were doing their job 50% of the time, the other 50 there were nowhere to be seen.

    On with the review:

    Location - 9/10
    I personally like the location but some people may think this is close to the Operaring, it is not.

    Room/Suite -9/10
    Ring Suite is big and as the name suggests, it goes in the circle. Plenty of space but feels it's time for upgrading. One issue in the room is the iPad which you use to order something and it is VERY slow.

    Bathroom - 10/10
    Spotless clean, excellant amenities, bathtub with separate shower area. This part was as expected.

    Cleanliness - 10/10
    At the hotel like this, 10/10 for cleanness is necessary to obtain.

    In room dining - 7/10
    Not on the same level as in other Kempinski hotels. Ordering takes quite a bit of time as the system in the iPad is slow. The food is OK but it takes more time to reach you thank what you are told.

    Breakfast - 0/10
    Unacceptable. Very few choices but all of this was shadowed by what we encountered for the first time in a hotel of this calibre.
    One of the waiters smelled really bad and his body odor was projecting heavily and we were forced to leave. I have reported this to the hotel staff (was than first time contacted by a Lady in Red with a rather generic reply). What I couldn't understand is how any other members of the staff didn't notice or warn this waiter.
    Again a guest at the hotel like this should not have to complain about problems like this.

    Few other observations. Turn down service is random, sometimes at 8pm sometimes at 5pm (???). Aside from the reception, the rest of the staff appeared to be quite cold.
    Again, I am not comparing Palais Hansen Kempinski to Four Seasons, I am comparing it to other Kempinski hotels and I get a feeling management at this hotel is not on point.

    Overall - disappointed


    Owner Response
    Dear estimated guest,

    thank you very much for your honest feedback, it is highly appreciated and gives us a great opportunity to improve our service level.

    I am very sorry to hear that our hotel and the services we have provided did not fully meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we have taken your feedback very serious and our Front Office Manager has followed up with you personally regarding the points mentioned.
    Beside the inconveniences you experienced, and it goes without saying which should never have happened, I am delighted to read that many parts of your stay could live up to your expectations, like the design of our Ring suites, the reception staff and the cleanliness for example.

    I truly hope to welcome you back soon and remain with kind regards from Vienna,

    Gerhard M, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this review

  • Good but nothing exceptional

    by H2Loewendahl on 2018-03-15 05:34 am

    We stayed in a deluxe room on the 1st floor. We used the stairs to go down but didnt realize there were actually 2 stairwells so on our return, we got a bit lost. I dont recall there being signs to help indicate which direction we should go. The lobby is open and spacious but there isnt much memorable about it. The staff were polite. We were attending the opera and asked to book taxi but wasnt sure how long it would take (I was worried about rush hour, as it was around 6). The man at the front desk didnt seem too confident in his response.

    The room was good sized, comfortable, fairly quiet and clean. It was nice to have the iPad (uses 30 pin dock connector) in the room, although it froze a few times when I wanted to turn it off in its charger so I could go to bed. I ended up hard shutting it down. The painting/furnishing and giant mirror was really nice (great for doing make-up). Nice to have 2 separate colored slippers (black/white) to not confuse whose is whose.

    The bathroom is where I have most of my complaints. There is a bathtub and separate shower but only one set of toiletries and 1 feet towel. There was no rubbish bin in the bathroom, except by the toilet (separated by glass door) so it was quite inconvenient I had to throw things in the rubbish can in the room by the working table (I had a cold during our stay). The rain shower was really nice and strong but the handheld shower kept sliding down the railing during the course of my shower so I had to keep adjusting the height. I dont know what the problem was but the digital control would turn on the handheld shower for 2 seconds and then shut off, displaying E1. It took 2 or 3 tries to get it to stay on. My husband used on the rain shower and he never had a problem with it. The door-lock mechanism for the toilet compartment protrudes outwards and we kept crashing the shower glass door into it. It is not possible to open the shower door, you have to push it inwards but we forgot several times. Hairdryer setting to change the heat intensity was broken. Nice to have magnifying mirror, good amount of counter space, nice to have a built-in tissue box in the drawer to keep it clean.

    Bed was very big and comfortable. Room had plenty of lights and one-button to turn everything off.

    We had a stay 3 for price of 2 nights deal so it was okay but I would definitely not stay there for the full price. It is in a convenient location. Was a pleasant stay but nothing really special.

    Owner Response
    Dear estimated guest,

    Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel. Only with detailed feedback we can improve our services, so we really appreciate your comment.
    I am glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay and especially liked the furnishing of your room. However, I'm sorry that we could not fully convince you with our rooms and our service.

    Kind regards from Vienna,

    Gerhard Mitrovits,
    General Manger

    Gerhard M, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this review

  • Terrific Hotel

    by vwfestival on 2018-03-11 02:59 pm

    All the staff were simply amazingly helpful and attentive throughout our seven night stay. We felt at home from the moment we stepped in through the front. The ambience throughout the hotel was excellent. The room was a good size with every thought given to the needs of travellers ; especially liked the iPad by the bedside which was preloaded with information. Excellent location close to the centre within easy walking distance. The breakfast was excellent. We ran out of superlatives to say about this hotel ...

    Owner Response
    Dear estimated guest,
    Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and that you enjoyed every bit of your stay!
    We hope to welcome you again at Palais Hansen Kempinski.
    Kind regards,
    Gerhard Mitrovits,
    General Manager

    Gerhard M, General Manager at Palais Hansen Kempinski, responded to this review


International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.