Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton


    Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton
 in Pittsburgh
    Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton
 in Pittsburgh

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
565 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Good location for a hotel

    by may761203 on 2019-12-05 05:52 am

    The facility is nice and the valet staff were great. The room was what I expected. Normally one would expect the elevators to work and better quality breakfast at $300+ per night. Stay somewhere else.

    Owner Response
    Dear may761203,

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope you accept our apologies for delivering a lackluster experience. We know you deserve better, so we have shared your insight with our team to implement improvements where needed. We hope the next time you travel through our area you'll allow us a second chance to provide you with a much more rewarding stay.

    Traci-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Great location, but room was tiny and awkward

    by jaeclectic on 2019-12-03 01:42 pm

    I chose this hotel because it was in a good location for my purposes (getting around Pittsburgh with no car) and I was curious because it's a relatively new hotel (in an old building). Unfortunately, I was not thrilled with the experience.

    To start with, I arrived around midnight, checked in, and was given a warning that I needed to press the down button instead of the up button on the elevator (one of the elevators was out of service for the entire 5 days I was there). However, I was not warned that to get to my room from the elevator, I would have to go up two steps and then down 8. Normally, I am happy to wrangle my own luggage, but I was irritated that the person at the desk wouldn't mention it -- and maybe even offer to have someone help me.

    Once I got to the room, I was unimpressed, It was tiny and furnished awkwardly. In particular, there was a large cabinet that was supposed to serve as a closet plus housing the small refrigerator, coffee-maker, etc. However, it was placed too close to the bed, so the doors did not open fully.

    Last and probably least, the one time I tried the hotel breakfast, it was pathetic. I will grant that on Thanksgiving weekend they may have been short staff, and the restaurant was not busy. But that's no excuse for all the food on the buffet to appear dried out to the point of being inedible. There was no fresh fruit except for a pile of bananas. nor any danishes or muffins. Even the oatmeal looked terrible. I ended up having some toast (the bread was nice) and got a couple of eggs cooked to order, which were fine. But I didn't feel like it was a good value for $17.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review and I do want to apologize for your experience with us. The elevator issue was unfortunate, and had a very bad impact on our ability to provide the usual service to our guests. We have enhanced the breakfast, which I feel will provide a much better array of options for our guests also. If you have any other details you would like to share, please do so to me directly at: mdeintinis@distrikthotel.com. I appreciate this kind of feedback, as it helps us greatly in our improvement efforts.

    Mark

    Mark De Intinis
    Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
    General Manager

    mdeintinis, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Definitely NOT a 5 star.

    by KimT555 on 2019-12-01 11:41 am

    From the moment I arrived thru check-out this property fell short. Booked this property for the EV charging station. Upon arrival the valet did not make an effort to open my car door and could not answer a single question Re: the charging station. Valet parking is an additional charge. He obviously did not want to be bothered and directed me to the front desk. Check-in was uneventful. One elevator is currently not working and the other does not work properly. Long wait for the working one. Arrived at my room while my travel companion was parking and plugging in the car-clearly a valet's responsibility but again he did not want to be bothered or bother learning for future guests. Room keys did not work, there was no phone on the guest floor so I had to return to the lobby to have the keys reprogrammed again dealing with long waits due to malfunctioning elevators. The room was an adequate size, dark even with all the lights on. Only coffee and no tea pods for the in-room coffee maker. Only coffee in the hotel lobby. When I inquired with the front desk I was told there was no tea available. Was not referred to room service nor was it offered. Magazine in the room was outdated. The breakfast buffet was beyond awful-very few hot options, service was weak, food was cold, toaster was difficult. Only topping option for the oatmeal was golden raisins, bananas should have been pitched last week-more brown than yellow. Will definitely not consider staying here on a return trip.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your response, and I do apologize for your experience. You're exactly correct, the EV Charging aspect should have been completely managed upon your arrival, and I will discuss with our Valet team. We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast offering, and should have a much better option for our guests this week.

    I will say this is the first review I have read where 'tea' was requested, and will make certain we have tea-pods available. Very good suggestion, thank you.

    Enjoy your day!

    Mark

    Mark De Intinis
    General Manager
    Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh

    mdeintinis, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Not a 5-star experience!!

    by ssannamariaaa on 2019-11-30 05:13 am

    Distrikt Hotel was marketed to us as a 5-star hotel. Judging by the modern lobby, one might indeed think it is. However, our stay was nothing of a 5-star experience.
    Upon arrival, I was alone as my partner had not yet arrived. They asked me to check in using my credit card, even though we had already booked the room using my partner's credit card. After this lengthy process, I took the slowest elevator of my life to my room. I wanted to change before heading out, and while doing that, another couple came in the room! They had assigned the same room to two different people, despite the fact that I had only checked in some 10 minutes earlier.
    Well, the receptionist made the couple go back downstairs to get a new room. At the same time, my partner arrived so I went to greet him at the lobby to go to our room. Turns out that the receptionist had disabled our room key along with the other couple's. So we could not get into our room, and had to go back to the lobby. At this point, my partner is carrying his large backpack, and my belongings are locked in the room.
    To avoid the unbelievably slow elevator, we decided to take the stairs (also being the emergency exit). We walked up and down the stairs for a good 10 minutes, ending up at a maintenance floor. We had to go in a random floor and take the elevator after all, to take the elevator we had tried to avoid. If there was an actual fire, I can't imagine how anyone would find their way out of the building. Even when we were shown the route, it only took us to the same lobby, where only one exit (the main exit) appeared to be. This is not only inconvenient, but also very dangerous in case of an actual fire.
    The room itself was very small, not as well-equipped or cozy as some 3-star hotels I've been to before, and faced another room, as well as a brick wall. The air conditioning was located NEXT TO THE BED and was incredibly loud, waking us up every time it turned on during the night.
    All in all, I feel like the whole stay was a waste of money and left us more tired than we were when we arrived. Judging by our stay, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is overpriced compared to the quality of service and room, and we will be staying at some of the other great hotels in the area next time. Maybe this way I won't have a random man staring at me while I'm changing clothes in my room.

    Owner Response
    Very sorry for your experience. We have reviewed the details of your stay with staff, and will certainly ensure we are doing all we are able to enhance our guests' stays. The elevator issue has been corrected. The credit card request is standard practice in the industry, to protect your partner's interest, as well as ensure identity, etc. Again, we have reviewed this process with our Front Desk staff, to ensure they are explaining this in more detail to our guests.

    I do appreciate your comments, and will use them in our weekly improvement process.

    Enjoy your day.

    Mark

    Mark De Intinis
    General Manager
    Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh

    mdeintinis, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Fun hotel in a great location

    by txhorsesis on 2019-11-23 12:54 am

    My stay was short but good. I think it's got a great vibe. My room was smaller than a typical room but it made sense with the space that the hotel is in. I would say housekeeping could clean their baths a little bit more. I'd stay here again.


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.