Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dunblane Hydro


    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dunblane Hydro
 in Dunblane
    DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dunblane Hydro
 in Dunblane

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4585 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Pretty average

    by daytripper066 on 2019-03-20 011:55 pm

    Stayed here for the third time. Was the Sunday night deal and very busy. We spent most of the afternoon with friends in the bar area. It was very cold mainly due to the entrance door continually opening and closing. Several times we asked to get the fire in the bar switched on but where just given some excuse. Had to queue at bar for drinks although there seemed to be plenty staff but seemed disorganised. I observed the bar staff just used their fingers when putting fruit and ice in the drinks. Not very hygienic. Dinner was fine but with most inclusive deals the supplements almost double the price. The room in the main building was very nice and very comfy bed. At breakfast the lady who greeted us could not have been nicer and certainly knew what she was doing, unlike some of the less experienced staff.

  • Birthday celebration

    by jamborae on 2019-03-20 12:48 am

    I booked a pamper break for my partner and I to celebrate his birthday. We arrived very early so parked the car and had a lovely walk into the town centre. We were then able to book in about 3pm and were surprised by an upgrade to a bigger room. The room was really nice and the bed was huge and really comfortable. We ate in the Kailyard and the staff were all very friendly and the food was amazing. I'm quite a fussy eater but there was a good selection of food on the menu. We rounded off our evening with several cocktails and again the service from the staff in the lounge was excellent. I'm definitely hoping to visit the hotel again as we both celebrate important birthdays next year.

  • Sunday night

    by Mcshanks on 2019-03-20 10:36 am

    Myself and my girlfriend booked this hotel for a overnight on the Sunday.We booked the deal on the hotel website.It was a room,dinner and breakfast deal.Make sure you book a table at the restaurant for dinner,as this isn't done as part of the deal.The staff were really friendly and helpful ,as soon as we arrived ,and for the rest of our stay.The food we had was very good,dinner and breakfast.Room was small,but I think this was because of the deal we booked.The lift was very small,could only fit 2 people with luggage.Would definitely visit again as the food and staff were very good.

  • Group of Malaysians on a four day spiritual retreat.

    by sguest2017 on 2019-03-20 09:34 am

    Unhappy greeting where we were told to get back in the coach and drive round to the back of the hotel when members of the group were already in the lift. As organiser I should have had that information earlier - and we could have been told in a more hospitable way - I did request an apology for the coach drive who had to return luggage to the coach. Not a good start.. The apology and the bottle helped.
    There was a member of staff at the meeting area at the back of the hotel with room allocation and keys -- BUT steps and no assistance with luggage. Room allocation was random and no mention had been made by the group booking team about stairs and narrow corridors and small rooms. During the stay many rooms did not have toiletries replaced and I spent a lot of time chasing housekeeping for proper supplies.
    Private room for dinner but only 1 member of staff to 30 of us. He was extremely willing and hard working but I had to insist on an extra person to serve.
    Once we had settled - and after a lot of discussions we were supported and the provision for the rooms, the food and the meditation room was good.
    The group booking team were not good at passing on the agreement made and putting it into action. eg sound system booked in advance - not provided,; white sheets on the floor provided grudgingly, as an extra at extortionate cost ( I nearly went out and bought 30 sheets - it would have been cheaper!)
    As the organiser I was always treated with courtesy and time to listen - and respond My group had complicated dietary requirements which the chef delivered with charm
    I spent most of the four days walking in the grounds or in the spa, and had a lovely time. The group eventually enjoyed their stay and would like to come again.
    If this happens my visit in advance would be very much more detailed and with signed agreements. The Hilton group contract is a nightmare of 10 pages all requiring signing and expecting agreement - but they did not keep their agreements. Not good

  • Disappointed

    by Ludivine M on 2019-03-19 01:04 pm

    We went away to the Double tree in Dunblane for a change of scenery and as a treat for ourselves. We have been to this hotel before and always had a lovely stay. So when we saw the Prosecco weekend offer we thought it would be perfect for us. The hotel was just as we remembered, at least the grandiose reception did. But it didn't last. At reception we were handed a warm bottle of prosecco instead of having it waiting for us in an ice bucket in our room. Unfortunately the negative feeling kept on coming. We were sent to the back of the hotel, less grand standing and looking very worn carpet and furniture. Glasses from the previous night were still left in the corner of the corridor and laundry trolley lying in the corridor and it was after 3pm. Our first impression wasn't positive and it was reinforced when we went to use the facilities. The changing rooms are outdated and the lockers are needed upgraded. There are nothing to attach your locker key onto your swimsuit either which isn't practical. The pool and steam room are very welcomed and enjoyable as far as you don't look to closely.... a major revamp project would be welcome there!
    At least we knew the restaurant wouldn't disappoint and we were right. The food and staff were perfect and very enjoyable evening. Although it would be more than expected that the maitre d'hotel actually let you know what your weekend deal is BEFORE you order your food rather than finding out when you leave the table. This is very rude and out of order from such a high standing hotel. Luckily we were in need of a change of scenery and relaxation but it was quite disappointing stay.

    Owner Response
    Dear Ludivine M,

    Firstly, thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro Hotel and although I note you enjoyed your dinner in the Kailyard by Nick Nairn Restaurant I see that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay.

    We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this visit and I apologise for this. We do appreciate your feedback and will use this to improve the service we deliver to our guests.

    It is great to hear that we were able to get you checked in early to your room at 3pm and I apologise for the corridors not being clear - our check in time is from 4pm and so there may have still been some rooms not ready.

    Thank you again for sharing your valuable observations. We hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again soon.

    Kind Regards,
    Stuart Cran

    StuartCran, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.