Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Fairmont Copley Plaza


    Fairmont Copley Plaza
 in Boston
    Fairmont Copley Plaza
 in Boston

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4105 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Elegant, luxurious, and romantic

    by thegymlad on 2020-04-21 06:59 am

    The hotel is well located! Close to the Back Bay station transportation hub, the famous attractions. Boston Public Library, Trinity Hall, copley square, the Freedom Trail, Boston public garden, and Boston Common are all within walking distance. The hotel itself is very historic and was built in 1912, blending in with the surrounding historic sights. The lobby is very gorgeous, and it is very convenient for shopping, dining and transportation. Hotel service is quite good, the front desk is very warm and friendly. Some of the facilities could be outdated, the room size is not large, it just doesn't worth that money. There's no buffet breakfast, breakfast is quite good, but also slightly expensive.

    Owner Response
    Dear thegymlad,

    Thank you for spending time writing this review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the historic look and feel of our 107-year-old hotel; we are proud to be a landmark property in Boston's beautiful Back Bay neighborhood. It was a pleasure for our Front Desk team to welcome you during your stay and we hope to host you again should you travel back to Boston.

    Best regards,
    Lauren Soriano
    Director of Public Relations

    Lauren_Fairmont, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review

  • Fairmont Copley and the Bait and Switch

    by ladydoj on 2020-03-20 01:42 pm

    I attended training facilitated by Harvard Medical on March 6-7, 2020. I opted to stay at the Fairmont Copley for convenience, the training was conducted there. Unfortunately, the training was abruptly terminated after the first day (Friday, March 6, 2020) due to the COVID-19 virus. Of course, this decision that was not made in advance of March 6, 2020, was a big surprise. Certainly, we understand the importance of minimizing the spread of this virus, it would've served the training better if this would've been conveyed in advance that this was a "possibility" and the participants could've made a decision in advance. Participants traveled from Hawaii as well as other faraway places to attend this training. As soon as the training was cancelled, I (as many other customers) approached the front desk and asked if any concessions (in the form of a discount to remain there) were going to be made for those participants that might not be able to change flights to depart earlier. I was asked for my room number and was told by a staff that there would be "no charge" if I notified the front desk daily by noon if I would be staying that day. Please note this was a surprise to we were scheduled to depart Boston on Monday, March 9, 2020. I was not asking to stay for free, only for a discount to determine to stay at the Fairmont Copley or find another hotel less than the daily rate of $281.64. I understand the full charges of $281.64 for Thursday and Friday. We both were not able to change our flights unless we were willing to pay an additional fee of $900.00 to Delta airlines to change one flight. I was horrified to learn the Fairmont Copley used the old bait and switch to keep us at their establishment for the full additional amount of $281.64 (Saturday, March 7, 2020). We would've checked out that day and stayed at another hotel less than the Fairmont Copley. I spoke to a manager by the name of Peter who was indignant and asked me if I had expected to stay at the Fairmont for free. I DID not expect to stay for free! He stated that there was a "miscommunication" problem and extended a late check-out on Sunday, March 8, 2020. Please be aware of the possible bait and switch. I am sure the Fairmont at Copley was losing numerous customers due to not only this cancellation of training but possibly other unforeseen cancellations. We initially were very thankful that the Fairmont Copley was accommodating due to Harvard cancelling the training after the first day. That was not the case. Be aware if you are looking to stay at the Fairmont Copley, consider another hotel! There are many hotels in the area, I suggest staying at one of those.

    Owner Response
    Dear ladydoj,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize that there was confusion regarding your hotel stay during these unprecedented times, and sad to hear that our front office assistance did not meet your expectations. When the conference was cancelled, we were eager to accommodate those who desired to travel home early by waiving early departure penalties, and encouraged guests to follow up with conference organizers directly about questions regarding the cancellation.

    While this situation was unique, we genuinely regret that you didn't have a positive experience with us and would be glad to speak with you about the situation. I invite you to please contact our Hotel Manager at 617-867-8514 so that he may discuss your stay in further detail.

    Please be assured that all guest comments are utilized to help us improve our hotel and we hope that you will consider giving us a chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you.

    Best regards,
    Lauren Soriano
    Director of Public Relations

    Lauren_Fairmont, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review

  • Pleasant stay

    by klecara2 on 2020-03-14 05:05 am

    No complaints about the services we received. The conference room was comfortable. The temperature in the room stayed consistent. I liked the access to other stores and restaurants. The easy access to 95 S upon leaving the city was wonderful. Overall, it was a great experience and one that my husband and I look forward to repeating in the future.

    Owner Response
    Dear klecara2,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a 5-star review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely conference meeting. We hope to welcome you and your husband back in the near future!

    Warm regards,
    Catherine

    catherine_fairmont, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review

  • Outstanding Service Best Location

    by DiscerningTraveler96 on 2020-03-07 07:34 am

    Every individual we encountered from the cleaning staff, doorman, front desk clerk, concierge, etc could not have been more welcoming and professional. Out room was spacious, sparkling clean with great amenities including a Nespresso machine. The old world charm and beauty of the hotel is beautiful and romantic--hotels aren't built with such grandeur any more! The artwork galleries and CORT the beautiful puppy made for a spectacular but warm and wonderful welcome to the hotel. The oak restaurant and long bar is the best place in Boston to end the day! Great food, elixirs and people watching. The location couldn't be better in the heart of the beautiful upscale Back Bay. With Trinity Church, The Boston Public Library and world class shopping literally across the street. What more could you want?

    Owner Response
    Dear DiscerningTraveler96,

    Thank you for your wonderful 5-star review. We are thrilled to hear such wonderful feedback of your stay with us from the rooms and historic charm of the hotel to the service provided! We hope to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay in the near future!

    Warm regards,
    Catherine
    Manager

    catherine_fairmont, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review

  • Luxury, tip top service and lobster for breakfast

    by SeedsOfAmpthill on 2020-03-06 06:52 am

    What a treat to stay at this hotel. It was so nice we didn't want to go out exploring. The rooms were spacious and luxurious. They were newly refurbished with beautiful accessories and art. The service was very slick. I had mentioned the dog books which were set in the hotel to reception and shortly afterwards I received a copy and a replica dog. Perhaps the highlight was breakfast - every item was carefully prepared and full of taste. We tried most of the menu between the 5 of us throughout our stay and every plate was a dream. I loved the lobster, our youngest loved the fresh pancakes with summer fruits and the others loved the full works. Again, the service was exemplary. I truly felt totally pampered and loved every second in this hotel. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

    Owner Response
    Dear SeedsOfAmpthill,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely 5-star review! We take great pride in our exceptional service we provide, so it is so great to hear such wonderful feedback from our valued guest. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Fairmont Copley Plaza in the near future!

    Warmest,
    Catherine
    Manager

    catherine_fairmont, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.