Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo, a DoubleTree by Hilton


    Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo, a DoubleTree by Hilton
 in Hilo
    Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo, a DoubleTree by Hilton
 in Hilo

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1439 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo, you set the tone for our magical Hawaii family vacation!

    by HappyMommy05 on 2020-06-03 04:24 am

    Our family (my husband, our five kids and myself) had a magical two-week vacation in Hawaii in May 2019. We went to the Big Island, then to Maui, then to Honolulu.
    In the Big Island, we stayed for 4 days at the Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo. We had a most pleasant stay here. From this hotel as our home base, we were able to explore the Big Island and all its wonders (especially the Volcanoes National Park tour and a day trip to Kona). Grand Naniloa is also conveniently located, as it is a short ride away from a strip mall, with places to eat like Jack in the Box, McDonalds, etc.
    What I remember most is the help that Grand Naniloa Hotel extended to us. In the late afternoon of the day we arrived, my husband went for a short run, bringing with him his wallet (containing cash, credit cards and driver's license) in a small backpack. A short distance away from the hotel, the wallet fell out without his realizing it. Someone passed by and picked it up, and wisely gave it to the front desk, correctly guessing that the wallet belonged to one of the hotel guests. The front desk people called my room to return the wallet.
    We are so grateful to the person who returned the wallet (who did not even leave his name with the front desk people since he said that his biggest reward was being able to help) and to Grand Naniloa Hotel's front desk folks! Our vacation could have started with a negative experience (losing an important item like a wallet). Instead, on our very first day in paradise, we experienced Hawaii's honesty and concern for others, helping set the magical tone of our vacation!
    (Apologies for the delay in writing out this review. After a busy 2019, we are now all staying at home due to the COVID-19 lockdown. Our prayers for everyone's good health, safety and well-being, including the hotel staff and employees. We look forward to the time when we can all safely travel again and enjoy the hospitality of good hotels like this one.)

  • Poor customer service

    by YbCi_Ci_808 on 2020-05-24 12:11 am

    I stayed at the Naniloa hotel Iron Man weekend October 13. I checked in my undamaged 2018 Toyota Tacoma the Valet and I walked around the truck and he notated no damage. The next day we check out and as I was walking around my truck to get in I noticed a huge dent in the tailgate and my number pushed in the valet guy was like not sure how that happened. He went and got his boss and she assured me that it would remedied. Months of messages and emails to the hotel and elite parking and finally get a hold of the girl from elite parking telling they are denying the claim?? WTF?! She said it was Hotel issue as they parked my truck in a lot that anyone can get into including employees . I contacted the hotel and was given the runaround again , finally the hotel gets Thore insurance involved and I get a letter in the mail stating that they are denying the claim as Valet was in possession of my truck. I have sent emails to the General Manager he has not even responded , Front desk manager, elite parking , the insurance company and no one will accept responsibility all I want is for my truck to be in the Same condition it was in when I checked in. It is now 8 months and my truck is now rusting from the paint being exposed. This has caused me extreme frustration.

  • Mahalo

    by M2215ZPdavidr on 2020-05-18 04:36 pm

    My husband and I live on the Kona side of the island and we needed to stay over in Hilo for a few days for personal reasons. We want to thank the Grand Naniloa for being open. Even with the stay in place, our stay was great; the peace and quiet was wonderful and having the Army personnel was comforting. We want to thank Lauraann R., Front Desk Manager, for a wonderful stay and Lauraann was so very helpful and we appreciated her kindness to us. We hope the next time we stay at the Grand Naniloa that everything will be back to normal; we missed our walk from the hotel to Hilo Town. Thank you, Mahalo once again for a great stay.

    Owner Response
    Aloha,

    Thank you for staying with us. It was our pleasure to have you with us, I am so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words and appreciation and gratitude. We here at the Naniloa appreciate you taking the time to comment on you stay with us. Until next time please be safe and we will see you again.

    LauraannR1, Front Office Manager at Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

  • 2 Night Stay on the Big Island

    by ACATL724 on 2020-04-14 08:33 am

    Overall, the hotel view and lawn were beautiful and it made for a convenient visit to Hawaii Volcanoes NP. If I were visiting again I wouldn't mind staying here because of the view and Diamond upgrade/breakfast. The hotel seemed to be more catered towards locals than guests and better food can be found nearby than on property (Bay Front Fish & Chips is highly recommended and incredibly affordable). Full Review:

    I stayed here as part of a quick trip to the Big Island to visit Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The hotel was hosting a number of events this week that made the stay chaotic and the resort is a little worn, but considering the limited options near Hilo it was a suitable stay.

    As a HH Diamond member I was upgraded to an ocean view room on the top floor of the more recently redone wing. The view really was great and the recognition of the elite status made the stay 4 stars for us instead of 3.

    We ate breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. We upgraded to the hot breakfast option for a small fee. Dinner service was slow and the food was fine. Overall, the restaurant was underwhelming, but the staff were friendly and warm and it was convenient. There is much better food available just in downtown Hilo (check out MOHALAS BAYFRONT FISH & CHIPS). One complaint was that we ordered delivery from a local restaurant one night and were reprimanded by the hotel for asking for silverware, then were eventually charged ~$1 for two sets of disposables. I understand there is a cost to providing silverware, so I don't really mind the small cost. I've just never experienced this before and was a little put off by the front desk staff when making the request. Especially considering the fact that non-guests were eating pizza and drinking by the pool that weekend to watch the NFL playoffs and were given plates and napkins.

    The hotel hosted a local event for Southwest on the Saturday afternoon and the lawn and pool area were overrun. I didn't mind the activity and wasn't going to swim anyways, so no harm in my book, but it did seem as though the resort was more interested in being a local watering hole/gathering place than serving guests. For the price and what we received, I think it is totally fair and really had no problem with it, but found it worth mentioning as it could be more of an impact for others.

  • Updated Review and Downgrade from the My Review in January 2019

    by WorldMin on 2020-04-08 02:02 pm

    I continue to prefer the Hilo region on the Big Island for its authenticity and affordability. It is not a region of big resort, all inclusive hotels, but more slanted to thoroughly Hawaiian B&Bs and more modest hotels. As I wrote in my review last year of this hotel, the Grand Naniloa remains the best full service hotel on the Hilo side of the island. It offers updated public spaces: lobby and its bar with live music; the ocean side restaurant/bar area; and at least one tower has updated rooms. The location is ideal, and the grounds are also delightful with views to Mauna Kea (see photo), but the pool area is modest by Hawaii hotel standards.

    I stayed at the Hilton DoubleTree Grand Naniloa Hotel along Banyon Drive in Hilo in January 2020, and caught fantastic weather which made the overall visit most enjoyable. As a Hilton Honors Gold, I can watch for good values at their website (especially if purchased in advance), and enjoy the benefit of a continental breakfast included. The hotel was fully occupied when I checked in and I was offered a king room with ocean view in the Mauna Kea Tower. I found that the rooms in that tower are not as nice as the rooms in the Kilauea Tower where I had previously stayed in 2019. The problem is also that the south/east facing side of the Mauna Kea Tower has the noise of the restaurant exhaust fan from early morning until late at night. The fan is not properly muffled. I was able to move after two nights to the much, much better Kilauea Tower, and so the second part of my stay was delightful.

    I had a rental car, and there is valet parking or self parking included in the mandatory daily resort fee. The rental car allows you to visit the many volcanic Hilo city beaches only 10 minutes from the hotel. I have reviewed the very popular Carlsmith Beach separately.

    In conclusion, the Naniloa is still my choice for stays in Hilo, and I would stay there again once safe travel resumes, but it is important to request or select a room in the Kilauea Tower.

    I will review the now independently owned and operated on-site restaurant (Hulas) separately.


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.