Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hilton Hawaiian Village® Waikiki Beach Resort


    Hilton Hawaiian Village® Waikiki Beach Resort
 in Honolulu
    Hilton Hawaiian Village® Waikiki Beach Resort
 in Honolulu

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
18347 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Everything for the Family or Couples

    by Noel M on 2020-01-21 01:51 pm

    Our flight home was cancelled and the airline provided overnight accommodation (two nights for late departures). Our room was on the 25th floor of the Rainbow Tower (Elvis stayed there back in 1963) and overlooked the hotel's lagoon which was great for all kinds of water sports including pedal boats, stand-up paddling, aqua cycle, etc. It also has its own beachfront area which is a great place for an ocean swim or if you prefer, it has five swimming pools. Although the hotel's restaurants can be expensive, there are also many restaurants beside the property. As another reviewer has said, you really do not need to rent a car. The hotel offers almost everything you would need for a great vacation.

  • Delightfully surprised

    by 380tuckerb on 2020-01-21 06:31 am

    Did not expect to even begin to like a 4000 room resort. However, after upgrading to an ocean view suite in the Ala'i Tower, there was really nothing to complain about. The room was easy to access so you didn't feel like you needed a golf cart to get around the property. Everything is very conveniently located. A Starbucks literally right outside the entrance to our tower. Speaking of coffee. For the price, it would be nice if the Ala'i Tower was able to offer a complimentary coffee and afternoon cocktail hour? I think people would even be willing to pay more to have the convenience of free breakfast and snacks. Overall though, the room was great. Very clean. What was most enjoyable was the outstanding Hawaiian service. Everyone was so nice and eager to help anyway they can. This is a place I would visit again. View from our room attached.

  • Overpriced Chaos

    by PinaJ23 on 2020-01-20 01:39 pm

    We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in January and I will never stay there again.
    From the time we stepped foot on the property we knew we had chosen the wrong hotel for our much anticipated trip to Hawaii.
    After a nearly 12 hour flight with many delays, we were keen to get checked in and start our holiday, however, it seems this was too much to ask. Check in was chaotic and we were faced with another hour wait before we even spoke to a staff member at reception. We made our way to our rooms feeling tired and even more stressed. We were not made to feel welcome and it was clear we were just a number or should I say money.
    When we arrived at our room it was clean but the decor is tired and dated. We also paid more for a ocean view and instead had a nice view of the apartment building next door. To see the ocean we had to stand on our balcony and turn our heads to the right, clearly a partial ocean view and not what I paid for. When I brought this up with a staff member at the dreaded reception desk, she just kept on telling me I had an ocean view room and wouldn't listen to my description of the view. It was only when I insisted on speaking to a manager I got somewhere. The manager was great and immediately moved us to another room.
    My perception of the resort is that you are paying a premium to stay somewhere that isn't exclusive. I could have easily stayed at a cheaper resort or hotel nearby and visited the Hilton and used their facilities. There were even outsiders using the pools. The wifi is terrible and be prepared to wait at all the eateries within the village. The Friday fireworks are great but again the village is chaos that night, full of people staying and visiting.
    The saving grace of this hotel was the porters. They are the only people in this hotel that will give you service with a smile and make you feel welcome. The staff at the Tapa Bar were also great.
    Also prepare yourself for the constant selling of Hilton Grand Vacations, which is Hilton's timeshare program.
    The resort is located a short distance from the centre of Waikiki and Ala Moana shopping centre, both are about a $10 taxi trip or short ride on the trolley.

    Owner Response
    Aloha PinaJ23

    Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had as our guest. We appreciate the kind comments regarding the hospitality of some of our staff, but your other feedback is concerning. We assure you that your feedback is being reviewed and addressed by our team. It is unfortunate to hear when we fell short in any aspect of our guests stay. We are committed to making every guest have a great experience with us and extend our apologies if we did not succeed in exceeding your expectations.

    Mahalo,

    Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

    hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

  • First time on Oahu: pros and cons

    by Gretchen W on 2020-01-19 06:01 pm

    We stayed over New Years and expected it to be busy and expensive, and it was.
    Pros: this beach is truly spectacular. There are a lot of dining options off property within walking distance, so don't feel tied to the resort. There are a lot of amenities on site, including some groceries and souvenir shops. This is a decent home base location if you want to explore Oahu (although expect a lot of traffic in Waikiki and Honolulu in general). Live music at the bars was fun. Grounds are beautiful. Bartenders were all friendly and fun.
    Cons: the place is huge. It's a 10 minute walk from one end to another, so it's not convenient to just "run up to the room" for something you forgot.
    The resort is really not equipped to handle a large capacity of guests; customer service was lacking for the amount of guests they had. We felt like just another number when we were there.
    Everything costs too much, from the drinks to the beach umbrellas (for a family of 4, plan to spend over $100 a day if you want chairs and an umbrella on the beach). And, there's not enough seating at the pools, which was a huge problem. Check in takes too long. Unimpressed with the luau.
    Overall, just okay for a first time in Oahu, but won't be coming back.
    Tip: explore outside the resort. You'll get more for your money with a lot more options.

    Owner Response
    Aloha Gretchen W

    Thank you for posting a review and for the comments regarding your stay with us over new years. Mahalo for your kind comments regarding our multitude of amenities on site and the "Aloha" our bartending team provided. We do apologize for the disappointments you mentioned and have shared this information with our management teams. We do have a large property with so much to offer and we truly hope that all of our valued guests do not find our 22 acres crowded. We sincerely apologize if the location was not ideal for you and hope we can have another opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay.

    Mahalo,

    Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

    hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

  • Still a dream

    by jnf60201 on 2020-01-19 07:56 am

    Returned here for the first visit in 40 years and it remains a dreamy location for a Hawaiian get-away. It's pricey and it's best to go search for local restaurants instead of always eating there but the setting is wonderful.


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.