Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Hotel Pullman Aachen Quellenhof


    Hotel Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
 in Aachen
    Hotel Pullman Aachen Quellenhof
 in Aachen

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1341 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Luxury one more stay

    by Ekaterina K on 2020-02-10 011:02 pm

    We stay in this hotel every visit to Aachen. Great location and service, exellent spa zone. This time one evening we returned to the hotel too late and too tiered that the bar was the only opportunity to have smth for dinner. But Chef kindly invited us to the restaurant and served late private dinner for us. We're really impressed and gratefull.

    Owner Response
    Dear Ekaterina K,

    thank you very much for your great review. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay at the Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen and we will share your compliments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

    Have a successful day and best regards from Aachen,

    Walter Hubel
    General Manager

    Walter H, Manager at Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen, responded to this review

  • Disappointed and racism

    by akasha001 on 2020-01-13 12:18 am

    In order to celebrate my anniversary with my partner, I booked a room in this hotel, based on the 5-star hotel reputation and normally impeccable service. We were put in the room 309 - "luxury" standing.

    Although we've been in the hotel before, we were quickly disappointed by the following points:
    o the wallpaper was peeling off the walls
    o there were traces of dampness on the walls
    o the musty smell on the bed sheets.

    Not wanting to offend anyone, we went to enjoy the hotel's spa, which was impeccable.

    The following day of our stay, as there was no space in the main breakfast area, one of the charming hostesses took us to another room for lunch. We are dumbfounded by the walls. These were covered by tapestry with colonial and racist representations depicting black people serving whites and carrying coffee as well as kneeling whilst carrying bags or represent in various positions of submission. (kindly refer to the attached photo).

    I went to the reception requesting to see a manager as I was quite offended that such a reputable establishment like yours would allow this kind of preposterous representation in your decoration.
    Having explained the situation to the receptionist; who was quite understanding, at first, of my feelings and, also, embarrassed, she went to look for someone in management. After two minutes of seeing her chat with two of her colleagues, she came back and simply stated that 'I shouldn't be offended as the decoration only depicts historical events!'

    As you can imagine, this answer is not appropriate. This a simple indication that your establishment is not made to respectfully accommodate someone like me i.e. a black person.

    Once my luggage was packed, I went back to the front-desk for my check out. As I was being handled by the receptionist, I kindly noted to her that her answer was absolutely not appropriate nor professional. I requested, once more, to see a manager. One of her colleagues approached me, apologised and repeated that the intention of the decoration is not to be offensive or racist but just retrace history. I was escorted at the back of the reception where I explained the implications of such decorations and that an establishment such as yours can't afford to have to adopt this attitude nor invalidate a customer's point. My request to see a manager was flatly denied.

    The two employees at the front desk, finally, admitted that the decorations are problematic and were sorry that hey could not answer my questions. I was asked to leave my contact details.
    I, once again, expressed my astonishment and displeasure at the fact that in 2020, a hotel of such a high standard can by its actions show and support a form of racism. If your aim is to honour history, can you please advise as to why there are no decorations depicting the full events of the second world war?

    I do fully intend to lodge a formal complaint to the relevant authorities.

    Owner Response
    Dear akasha001,

    Thank you for your message and your review.
    First of all, we would like to thank you and your partner for celebrating your anniversary with us.
    The more I regret that this special day did not meet your expectations.
    We know that our rooms need a renovation and we communicate this openly on all our platforms.
    There was a change of operator on 01/01/2020, so no investments have been made under Accor.
    We will start renovating the rooms in the second half of the year. The need of renovation is the reason why we are not officially classified as a 5 star DEHOGA Hotel anymore.
    Now I come to the real reason for your review, the colonial style wallpaper in one of our guest rooms.
    Dear Sir, I assure you that our corporate philosophy says to treat all people with respect and dignity, regardless of their skin color, nationality, denomination, gender or origin.
    Our team consists of people of all nations, religions and skin colors.
    We would like to get rid of this wallpaper, but unfortunately, this is not possible.
    When the hotel was completely renovated in 1999/2000, this wallpaper appeared under a paneling.
    The wallpaper is an original wallpaper from the year the house was built in 1916.
    The entire renovation was under the supervision of the building authorities and the wallpaper was listed as a historic monument.
    That is why we have absolutely no possibilities to remove these wall representations, even with the upcoming renovations.
    I can assure you that nobody in the house identifies with these representations.
    The pictures are about the colonial period.
    I would like to sincerely apologize and regret to hear that you felt personally attacked. Please understand that this is beyond our control and that the entire team and I clearly distance from the representations of the tapestry!
    We would be delighted to welcome you and your partner back in our hotel after the renovation
    to convince you of our corporate philosophy and quality of service."

    A successful day and best regards from Aachen,

    Walter Hubel
    General Manager

    Walter H, Manager at Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen, responded to this review

  • Sublime Hotel with breathtaking service

    by reinout2019 on 2020-01-03 011:13 pm

    Stayed 3 nights with my girlfriend. Absolutely wonderful hotel, location is fantastic and very easy to reach by car. 10 minute walk from City center through some cute streets. Car parking very safe and very secure and really convenient. Reception staff is lovely and special mention to Phillip who went out of his way to make sure that we would enjoy our stay. Jeanne in reservations is an angel as she upgraded us free of charge and I have never experienced service this good. She is extremely warm and welcoming and deserves far more praise than I can express. Room was very spacious with very nice views. Facilities in room are perfect and housekeeping is very good. Breakfast is well organized and smart, with a chef preparing special dishes on request.
    One more special thanks to Phillip in reception and Jeanne in reservations. Without them this stay would not have been this perfect. Thank you again! Reinout & Daphnee

    Owner Response
    Dear reinout2019,

    thank you again for your lovely review. I have already forwarded your comments from TrustYou to Philip and Jeanne. They were very happy and greet you warmly.
    We look forward to your next visit, until then stay well,

    Best regards from the Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen,

    Walter Hlubel
    General Manager

    Walter H, Manager at Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen, responded to this review

  • HISTORIC HOTEL IN PARK SETTING!

    by VicNicholas on 2019-12-22 07:44 pm

    We were really excited about staying at the Quellenhof in Aachen, as it is a historic hotel steeped in a fascinating history. The hotel curiously did not have a doorman, but an enthusiastic female counter staff member by the name of Nadine came outside and helped with the luggage. Check in was smooth, and the room we were allocated was on the top level with fine views. The room was good, but somewhat dated. But, it was acceptable, never the less. The heating for some reason did not work. So we spoke to the desk staff who assured us they could raise the heat from their end downstairs. For whatever reason, this did not happen, and our first night and morning was very cold. We spoke again to a desk staff member by the name of Michael who managed to raise the level from the reception desk, and our second night was much more comfortable! The public areas of the hotel are excellent and show signs of recent upgrades. The breakfast area, the indoor pool and sauna areas all looked relatively new, and were great to use, especially the Turkish hammam. On our first day, an incident occurred where a rather self entitled guest decided to park his car in front of our car which had not been shifted to the underground car park as yet. My wife went inside and asked the man politely if he could momentarily shift his car. This man arrogantly refused. My wife asked politely again, and again he refused, but this time with a stream of invective in Arabic as if he felt it demeaning to have to obey any female. My wife blasted this man for his arrogant lack of respect - incredibly, because my wife is very quiet and non confrontational by nature. This man exploded in a rage and was screaming in Arabic and the situation apparently became very scary. It was at this point that the a hotel staff member of Arabic extraction courageously confronted the screaming man and pleaded in Arabic for the man to shift his car and to calm down. The man complied, yet screamed at my wife all the way outside with only the Arabic desk clerk standing in between to prevent this man resorting to violence. I thanked this man later that day for his personal courage in a very scary unpredictable situation. I only wish I knew his name, as he was extremely brave and professional and a credit to the Pullman organisation and the Hotel Quellenhof. Again, I thank you sir for taking control of this unsavoury situation. We have never in all our years of travel experienced anything like it, and hope never top experience anything like it again. We *did* enjoy our stay, but we look forward to one day staying again when the hotel rooms are renovated. A wonderful historic hotel for history lovers (central role in the Battle of Aachen in 1944) and surrounded by sumptuous parkland, epic casino and Eurogress convention centre all next door. The hotel Aachen is worth a visit.

    Owner Response
    Dear VicNicholas,

    thank very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but we regret that the heating in your didn?t work the first time.
    But much more we regret the incident in our garage. Unfortunately we have no influence on the behavior of our Arab guests. Of course we will pass on your thanks and praise to our colleague Mr. Malaoui. We hope that we will continue to welcome you as our guests at Parhotel Quellenhof Aachen.

    A happy new year and best regards

    Walter Hubel
    General Manager

    Walter H, Manager at Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen, responded to this review

  • Delighted to have stayed here

    by england1313 on 2019-12-19 11:37 am

    Reading the reviews, it must depend on what room you get allocated. We were a bit apprehensive to be fair but our room 310 was perfectly fine, nice size and very comfortable. Breakfast was great - possibly the best we've encountered in continental Europe given our Full English is the benchmark. Decent coffee and all round service. If they are serious about returning the place in 2020 then it will be absolutely brilliant then. That's a stay again from me.

    Owner Response
    Good morning england 1313,

    thank your very much for your great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay especially our breakfast. We will start with the renovation in this year, so we are looking forward to welcome you again in a renovated hotel in 2021.

    A happy new year and best regards from the Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen,

    Walter Hubel
    General Manager

    Walter H, Manager at Parkhotel Quellenhof Aachen, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.