Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

La Concha Hotel & Spa


    La Concha Hotel & Spa
 in Key West
    La Concha Hotel & Spa
 in Key West

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1450 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Historic Heart ripped out

    by beachqueen2015 on 2019-11-13 04:46 am

    The hotel and other local tourist information publicises La Concha as a unique and historic gem in Key West reflecting its 1926 origins in character and furnishings and enticing and exciting current guests to walk in the steps of famous historic figures including Truman and Hemmingway.

    When we first visited in 2007 and walked in to the grand lobby, all La Concha's illustrious history was palpable. We were greeted by a traditionally dressed bell hop who diligently and enthusiatically took care of us and our luggage. We checked in at an impressive reception and could easily imagine celebrities through the decades doing so before us. The dark wood, marbled floors , period furniture and swirling ceiling fans drew us to sit and take in the historic past in the grand lobby and to return again and again during our stay to connect to the past some more.

    So impressed were we that we returned twice more within a few years just to repeat this wonderful experience and we saw many tourists just coming in to marvel at the grand lobby although they were not staying in the hotel.

    Now returning 10 years later to relive this once more, imagine our horror to find the historic lobby gone and a modern, glass, backlit bar the first sight for visitors and dominating the whole lobby instead. The reception desk is no longer grand but is inconspicuous in a corner, the concierge is in the background at his desk instead of being front and centre by the entrance where he used to justifiably sit. Gone are the colonnial style furnishings and fixtures in favour of mundane seating in a multipurpose area used for the inexplicably reduced breakfast and dinner service the hotel now offers guests.

    To say we are hugely saddened by this unsympathetic development does not begin to describe the loss we feel for this historic building and its loyal staff.
    We understand progress is necessary to reflect changing tastes and needs in our modern world. However, we also have a duty to remember and preserve our past. Future guests may never know how majestic this hotel was and that is an irreparable pity.

  • Quick visit

    by harryk636 on 2019-11-08 03:25 am

    This hotel exceeded our expectations, from check in to the wine bar to the bar, to check out was wonderful.. it is a perfect location for a quick visit to KW. We did not eat there
    Our room was on Duval street, with a balcony.. their was a bit of noise early in the morning, but hey, things need to get done..

    Owner Response
    Thank you for kindly reviewing La Concha Key West. I thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our dedicated customer service and luxurious amenities. We hope you will continue to join us again for your future trips to Key West.

    Best regards,
    Mike Rice, General Manager

    Mike R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review

  • Birthday trip

    by cara r on 2019-11-06 07:01 am

    The hotel was in the perfect location for walking around key west ! We paid extra for a balcony and it was worth it to sit and relax while we planned the next thing to do ! The pool was nice and the bar outside was nice too. The concierge Bob was super knowledgeable and helped us book a few things ! We went parasailing with fury it was great, ghost tour walking with sheila also great ! I am used to booking my own things but having Bob took all the stress and google time away ! He really knew what was good and not so good. Would definitely recommend staying here . The room was decent sized and very comfortable. However the bathroom was on the smaller size .

    Owner Response
    Cara, thank you for the fantastic review of La Concha Key West. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location on Duval street nearby some of the area's top attractions. We too love our relaxing pool area and happy to hear our associates exceeded your expectations with their service. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon.

    Best regards,
    Mike Rice, General Manager

    Mike R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review

  • 15 year anniversary

    by Dawna L on 2019-10-28 09:38 am

    Recently stayed during their busiest time. My main complaint is the rooms. I understand we are dealing with Key West, older buildings. But our hotel room was very small, but with the proper furniture it wouldn't be so bad. It had a king size bed with two night stands, a full size couch with an additional two end tables, a large bulky TV stand that the doors don't close properly and you bang into, and an external refrigerator sitting on the floor. There is basically a small path around the bed to get to the couch and have to lean over couch to look out window. I don't understand why they wouldn't mount the TV on the wall and get rid of the bulky TV stand and very large couch. They should just place a small cozy chair in there. With all the furniture it felt claustrophobic. Shower leaked into bathroom and I had to call for maintenance. We paid $650 a night for the standard (smallest) room and no other room types were available. Received a bottle of wine that said 'Happy 80 years young' in my room for our anniversary trip. I am 48, lol. Great location on Duval and great breakfast.

    Owner Response
    Dawna, I am sorry to hear that we did not quite meet your expectations during your stay at La Concha Key West. As you mention, our room sizes are smaller than average given the layouts are based on historic blueprints. We strive to provide furniture that is comfortable for most guests and we appreciate this feedback as we continue to elevate the guest experience. We will discuss the issues you describe internally with maintenance and the team at large. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to impress you the next time you visit Ley West.

    Best regards,
    Mike Rice, General Manager

    Mike R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review

  • Great Historic Hotel

    by adcsbarger on 2019-10-24 07:45 am

    My wife and I went to stay at the La Concha last month and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and clean with a nicely appointed decor and finishes. The pool area is nice and the bar happy hour is a big plus. The included valet parking is a HUGE plus. The hotel itself is within easy walking distance from all Key West tourist area has to offer. I highly recommend the La Concha as a great place to stay!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for kindly reviewing La Concha Key West. I am glad to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful experience from check-in to check-out, taking advantage of our well-appointed accommodations and relaxing pool area. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next stay.

    Best regards,
    Mike Rice, General Manager

    Mike R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.