Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows


    Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
 in Chichen Itza
    Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
 in Chichen Itza

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1782 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Sure not the cheapest hotel, but location is great

    by MichaelSchindl on 2020-04-18 09:16 am

    We really wanted to stay at Chichen Itza for one night, therefor we opted for the Mayland Hotel and Bungalows, which was pricey, but the location was great. It has a separate entrance to Chichen Itza and we visited it on our own at the evening, which was a great choice. Rooms are spacious and clean. We had dinner at the hotel, which we felt was not expensive and excellent. Still on our point of view the total cost of staying there is too expensive for what you get. Staff did not live up to the high standards of the hotel, we did not feel welcome at some point.

    Owner Response
    What a sad review.... one who's score has no relationship to the prose, which is obviously impacted by price, as stated.
    The Mayaland is one of the true resort bargains in the world; yet it is not for everyone.

    Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review

  • Location is great but the rest is lacking...

    by howardxp1 on 2020-03-22 05:46 pm

    This is like one of the Hotels that are located right inside a National park in the states and charge 5 star rates but are 3 star hotel.

    The grounds are sprawling and quite pretty. The pool is decent though could be maintained better. There were OVER 200 missing tiles on the floor of the pool. No exaggeration.

    The key to our room (#108) also did NOT open the door. It had to be forced and almost broken with the key inside the cylinder. A little WD40 would do the trick.

    There are no telephones in the rooms so if you need anything you have to go all the way downstairs to request it.

    There was a large flat screen TV, but for both days no channel was available at all. None! They said they were working on it.

    Charging over $200 / night you'd expect that they'd have slippers or even a toothbrush and toothpaste in the room, but NOTHING.
    I had to go down again and ask. Still no slippers and getting toothpaste was like pulling a tooth!

    Let's see, there were 2 large towels, 1 medium and no small ones.

    Breakfast was included, but it was not a buffet. At breakfast I like to ask for a hot chocolate to see if they do it with a snails or if they nickel and dime their guests. Indeed, they charge big time if you want a hot chocolate. No soy milk either.

    The kicker is that they are using outdated and inefficient toilets as well. The toilets cannot handle even toilet paper. They keep an open trash basket - (NO COVER) nearby. Feces on exposed toilet paper means more potential disease than just the Corona Virus!! They said "this is Mexico" as an excuse. It's just a poor excuse for being too cheap to install decent ones. $110 for 1.6 gallon flush toilets in Home Depot, flush perfectly including the toilet paper!

    This hotel continues to charge ridiculous rates but does not do their maintenance and their policies are downright cheap!

    While the room cleaners and other staff were friendly, the front desk were just so-so. Not really trained professionals in the hospitality business.

    Unfortunately this hotel had its heyday years ago when Pavarotti was there.
    It doesn't look like they'll do what it takes to bring it up to speed.

    Howard S.

    Owner Response
    We are all sorry we did not meet your expectations. We DO have slippers, and All the amenities you mentioned.
    Breakfast does not need to be a buffet to be great. We believe ours is that, GREAT, with attentive service and personalized.

    Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review

  • Hacienda-style hotel in a superb location

    by Sue-at-5 on 2020-03-20 08:26 am

    After a three-hour road journey from the very modern and characterless environment that was Cancun (impression based on an overnight stay only so there are sure to be some redeeming points which we didn't get to see) it was a pleasure to arrive at this hotel. The bedrooms and public rooms are designed in a hacienda style and the hotel and bungalows are set in gardens full of tropical plants and birds. The hotel reception was quick to relocate one of our party to her own bungalow to save her climbing stairs as there is no lift in the main hotel. We enjoyed our drinks in the bar area and our dinner in the main restaurant although it was rather too dark to read the menu without resorting to the torch on a mobile phone! The local birdlife served as a tropical alarm clock in the morning. It was lovely having the privileged access to Chichen-Itza rather than having to go to the main entrance, particularly since it enabled us to arrive before the crowds and thereby experience the stunning surroundings in relative peace and quiet. This hotel is certainly the one to chose when staying in Chichen-Itza.

    Owner Response
    We all appreciate your visit and your wonderful comments. THANK YOU !

    Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review

  • Perfect

    by GreyNomad27 on 2020-03-18 01:56 pm

    We stayed in a bungalow which was well appointed and nice and quiet.
    We went on the 5am tour of Chichen Itza which is organised by an entrepreneurial hotel employee.
    It is a bit expensive but is worth it - it is a fantastic tour and you are back at the hotel in time for an excellent breakfast before the hordes descend.
    I believe that the Mayaland is the only hotel with direct access to the site, indeed it is almost in it.
    We saw the public access on the other side and it looked like a bear garden.

    Owner Response
    Fantastic !
    THANK YOU.

    Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review

  • A lovely resort with access to Chichen Itza!

    by yennibnyc on 2020-03-07 10:41 am

    Sadly, I only stayed one night in this lovely resort! I was in a group of three adults roadtripping through Yucatan and we decided to book a bungalow so that we would be close to the Chichen Itza pyramids.

    The bungalow was adorable! We had three beds, with mosquito nets, which made the room more cozy. The thatched roof is gorgeous, and we woke to sounds of birds outside. There are bugs, which is why it's great to have the nets, but nothing too disrupting. Our room opened up onto a porch with rocking chairs.

    The resort itself has everything you could need from food to pool to quiet nature. And you are literally steps to Chichen Itza. You'll also have a beautiful view of the night sky with plenty of stars!

    Food was delicious, but more expensive than I would've expected. We did get a good selection of Mayan / Yucatan dishes for dinner, and it was great that breakfast was included with the room.

    As said, I'm very sad we only got to stay one night, but I hope to be able to return again!

    Owner Response
    We all look forward to having the honor of being your hosts again. Do come back with much more time to enjoy the magical experiences provided by the marvels that surround our beautiful grounds.
    Thanks for your visit and your very nice review!

    Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.