Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Sopwell House


    Sopwell House
 in St Albans
    Sopwell House
 in St Albans

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2940 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Amazing food and aervice

    by 268dannyq on 2020-03-21 01:04 am

    Me and my partner went for a night to use the spa facilities and have a nice meal. The service we received was excellent. When the lunch came out late the chef personally came and apologised even though it wasn't necessary. During dinner I had probably the best beef fillet I've ever eaten and was cooked to perfection by the chef Joe. Toby our waiter was amazing with his friendly easy going yet professional personality. The team there really made our night great and would highly recommend a visit.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to leave you review of your recent visit.

    My team and I are delighted that you had such an amazing time and Joe and Toby thank your for the personal mention.

    We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Over priced poor service

    by iphoningsb on 2020-03-19 09:14 am

    Attended a spa day with a girlfriend and everything that you would hope for just didn't happen.
    Arrived at 9:00 am, the assistant sat us down in the waiting area and offered us " a drink". My friend had water and I had a cup of tea. A receptionist came over to us and talked about upgrading. There was no information about the benefits of upgrading but rather just listing the items the upgrade included. We declined but as my friend's spa day hadn't included a treatment she was then charged ?98 for a massage.
    All of this happened in the first 10 minutes of arriving. We hadn't seen each other so we're chatting over our tea and water and the receptionist came over to us 3 times asking if we were ready to go in. On the third try I said, our treatments don't happen till 11:00 so if u could come back to us at 9:45 maybe we would've finished our drinks and we'd be happy to go through. Her response was that if she's not available because it would be very busy with other guests coming in, we could always go to the reception area and ask for help. And only now are we told we were entitled to a welcome smoothie! No problem we said we'll have it later. In that time, only about 4 other guests came into the said waiting area and all we could hear is the staff trying to "upgrade" everyone with no takers. From the point of going into the spa we were now very much left on our own. No one came to show us to our treatments so I set an alarm so that we could go back to the public waiting area as advised. Now we are in our robes, in the same place where new arrivals are coming, waiting to be collected. My massage was GREAT, my friend said hers was basic. The same massage; different masseurs, totally different experience. Then we were shown to the chill room - perfect, but why Aren't people allowed to wait here, when you've changed into your robes awaiting your treatment, instead of going back outside with the arriving guests? So now again, alarm set to go for lunch as no one Was coming to show us to the dining room. We were told earlier that dining would be a la carte so when we sat down to a buffet we were worried that we were in the wrong dining room however we weren't. We had our starter salads and left our plates to go for the main. When we got back the used plates weren't cleared until we asked for some water and asked for the table to be cleared. At this point we learn we have to pay for drinks. For the money you've already paid, can you not have one soft drink included? Wow! Food though, was AMAZING - thank goodness. On leaving the dining room we are asked for payment. I was in shock, could this not be added to a tab and settled when you're checking out? Why would I have cash or card on me when I just came from a massage? So back to the locker to get payment. Back to the restaurant then back to the chill zone. When we went back to the chill room (2 and a half hours after we left to go to lunch) the lounge beds were in disarray with the sheets all over and people's cups and glasses left all over. Photo attached. My friend and I sat in the only 2 made up beds even though they were opposite each other! So now we're shouting across to each other. About an hour afterwards one of the staff came and literally repositioned the beds, cleared the dishes and folded the blankets into the ends of the bed. So anyone else coming to relax is now sitting in the same fabric beds where people have been laying in their robes? I wonder when those sheets are actually ever changed? We had tea in the plastic cups that were available and nuts in the basic paper cones which were also used for the lukewarm water in the spa area. As I had been here before I asked if my friend could just see the club area and although we were offered an upgrade earlier, now as actual users of the facilities we were only allowed to peer through the door by the gym, now staring at the "private guests" like animals in a cage! We are both business owners and could have potentially considered membership or even returning in hope of a better experience but after this one, we are definitely sure we can have brilliant massages and good food at other Exclusive membership clubs for half the price. We know that because one of us is already a member of an exclusive global membership club and we've never had reason to complain. It's a real shame or maybe our expectations were too high?

    Owner Response
    We value all guests feedback and whilst it is always nice to receive positive comments it is equally important to learn when we have not met our guests expectations.

    I am sorry that your Spa day did not live up to your expectations and there were clearly some things that could have been done better and I have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers.

    We would always recommend speaking with a Duty Manager rather than leave us unhappy and it is regrettable that you did not speak to us whist you were her so that we could rectify your experience.

    I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back for an experience more commensurate with the name of Sopwell House.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Appalling

    by AugustStar26 on 2020-03-19 00:22 am

    Never have I experienced such awful customer service and respect for customers. Due to the current circumstances of Covid 19 and one of our family members being classed as high risk we enquired about moving a reservation. We spoke to the reservation manager 'Orla', who was extremely rude and told us 'I will not debate Covid 19' even though government guidelines are to stay indoors and avoid social interaction. To quote one of their statements ' Our customer's safety and dining experience is of paramount importance' however this is nothing but lies. As they offered no possibility of moving our reservation and would rather jeopardise our health and many others. Absolutely appalled.

    Owner Response
    I am naturally disappointed to read of your experience at such an uncertain time.

    Please contact me directly at executivepa@sopwellhouse.co.uk so that I can investigate further for you.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Not worth the price for the quality

    by travellingshelter on 2020-03-18 03:38 am

    Booked an overnight stay and was really looking forward to it, however I was bitterly disappointed.

    There really is nothing special about this place.

    Our double room consisted of two single beds pushed together which I discovered after falling asleep in between the two mattresses.

    Food in the brasserie was bland - totally lacking in flavour/season and lukewarm at best, never hot. Meat was either overdone to a crisp or barely cooked with a small pool of blood forming on our plate. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard, however the scrambled eggs were AWFUL.

    The spa was ok. Again, not worth the price. I've stayed in far better.

    Overall I wouldn't stay again, neither would I recommend it to others. Don't be fooled by celebrity postings about this place. Save your money.

    Owner Response
    My team and I are naturally disappointed to read your review as we have received lots of great feedback about the Spa and the variety and quality of the offerings in our Brasserie.

    It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your experience and will not be visiting again.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Afternoon tea

    by chloe360180 on 2020-03-16 02:23 pm

    3rd time returning to Sopwell House for afternoon tea and once again I was not let down. Such great value and the food is incredible! Not to mention how friendly all the staff are. Would 100% recommend and I will definitely be going back.

    Owner Response
    How lovely to read that your third visit for one of our afternoon tea experiences the team did not let you down.

    We thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.