Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Sopwell House


    Sopwell House
 in St Albans
    Sopwell House
 in St Albans

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2857 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Weekend meeting

    by L2845MBjohn on 2019-10-13 10:01 am

    Comfortable and spacious room. Lovely big 4 poster bed. Slept like a log! Very pleasant and helpful staff. Easiest access to our room was via the conference entrance and the adjacent car park. Approach road was narrow beside a golf course and we were held up by the Sheffield United team bus manoeuvring at the entrance. Seems popular with soccer teams with an impressive array of signed team shirts outside the restaurant. Would have liked to have had a Gideon's bible provided in the room.

  • Very disappointed

    by Kerry A on 2019-10-12 06:22 am

    Unfortunately we were never able to get to Sopwell House due to myself being admitted to hospital. When we phoned them to ask for either a refund or to move the weekend we were told that it wasn't possible. We offered to pay an admin fee, show evidence that I'd been in hospital etc. Overall I was very disappointed and upset with the service. I appreciate it was a non-refundable room but it was exceptional circumstances and for that I'd expect more care and compassion. It ruined what was already a pretty terrible birthday!

  • Beautiful hotel

    by Ria K on 2019-10-06 12:36 am

    Hotel beautiful spa facilities good however food disappointing in the restaurant and quite pricey for the portion.. too many staff but not very attentive
    The staff were lovely the rooms had a great view and breakfast lots of variety.. no fridge in the rooms and bought a birthday cake for ?15 quid which was very small and got the wrong name on it

    Owner Response
    I am pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful Spa facilities but that you were disappointed with the fine dining experience in the Restaurant.

    Our Chef in the 2 AA rosette Restaurant that you have dined in, designs his menu for guests enjoyment of a three-course meal and therefore the portions are reflected to ensure that diners enjoy not only every course but the complimentary canapes and amuse bouche.

    I am very disappointed that your request for a fridge was not fulfilled and that the wrong name was on your cake, I can only apologise and reassure you that this is not an indication of the standards we strive to maintain at Sopwell House. I have shared your feedback with the team for further investigation.

    I do hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Excellent

    by KOS03 on 2019-10-06 09:42 am

    My husband and I stayed in sopwell house for one night in October. We had booked a standard room but upon check in were given a room in the mews area as our room was not ready.
    We were given the Orchid room which has a large bedroom with a fireplace, ample seating room and a large bathroom. There was also a hydropool for the mews guests which we were able to use with just the two of us in it.
    We were delighted with this room and so happy to have been put in it.
    I have used the spa at sopwell before and enjoyed the use of the gym, sauna, pool and steam room.
    We ate dinner at the brasserie in the evening and service was prompt and friendly. The food was very good as was breakfast the next day. All staff we encountered were polite and helpful.
    Throughly enjoyed our stay at Sopwell and would visit again

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay with us.

    My team and I are delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time with us and found us all polite and helpful.

    How lovely to have had the opportunity to stay in one of our Mews suits and to experience the hydro pool located in the private mews gardens.

    We all look forward to welcoming you back.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Gym induction

    by Queenbee1936 on 2019-10-05 010:05 pm

    Not one for the gym but I had my gym induction with Jack and what a lovely guy. Having a bad knee means I have to be very careful but he went through and explained what equipment I should be using to increase my fitness levels but also not to damage my knee. Feel totally confident using the equipment. Thank you Jack?

    Owner Response
    Jack is delighted to read that you enjoyed your gym induction with him and is pleased that you feel totally confident in the use of the equipment.

    Jack, or any member of the team, are always on hand should you need any further assistance on your road to increasing your fitness levels.

    We look forward to seeing you during your visits.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.