Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Sopwell House


    Sopwell House
 in St Albans
    Sopwell House
 in St Albans

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2789 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Unwelcoming, snobby relations manager

    by JasmineManning on 2019-06-13 01:44 am

    My family went for my 40th birthday. However since our last stay the rules had changed and children were no longer allowed in the pool during the day, but our Guest Relations Manager did not inform us of that when booking. She was very snotty, pointed out T&Cs and could not really seem to care less. Unable to gain any recompense we were stuck in our rooms with our unwanted children on a long wet day, taking turns to have a quick swim and facial etc .At dinner our waiter was lovely and finally made us feel welcome. However we all ended up ordering a pizza afterwards because the sizes were so meagre. Complete waste of money, felt very unwelcome generally and will never go back, esp with kids.

    Owner Response
    I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the swim time for children in our pool and spa area. This policy has been in place since 2014 and the timing is on our confirmation emails to all our guests who book with us. The timings are put in place for all our guests' enjoyment and I am sorry that you felt inconvenienced as a result of us not allowing your children to access the pool out of these swim times.

    I was concerned about your comments that that my Guest Relations team was unhelpful and unwelcoming and immediately looked into the matter personally. I am glad to note that the Guest Services team made considerable effort to offer alternatives such as board games, and DVD's to keep the children entertained and occupied which were declined. Knowing that the children would be disappointed, we sent up to the room, juice and cupcakes for the children to enjoy. Understandably, with the inclement weather experienced during your stay, it can be challenging to keep our younger guests occupied. However, I am sure you can appreciated that our Guest Relations team had to be firm when faced with demands to access the pool, that they were unable to make an exception in consideration of all our other guests. Therefore, we were unable to meet your request for compensation as a result. I apologise if the team came across as snotty and unwelcoming; please be assured this was unintended.

    I am very surprised that you found our portion sizes at dinner insubstantial. Many of our guests find great enjoyment from our food and beverage offering and we rarely get feedback about the inadequacy of our portions. Nevertheless, Chef has taken your comment on board and thanks you for your feedback.

    I am very sorry that you do not plan to stay with us again. However, should you change your mind please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will do our best to ensure that you will have an enjoyable time.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Beautiful hotel and spa!

    by nataliesM9773ZV on 2019-06-10 08:26 am

    I was due to visit Sopwell House for a friend's birthday but unfortunately she wasn't well so we had to cancel one of the beds in the room. Jenny was unbelievably helpful and sorted it all out for us. The staff from beginning to end were so helpful and friendly. Even when walking down some stairs, a man that worked there offered to help us. We each had a massage and a pedicure which were both fantastic. Our only complaint is there aren't enough sofas to lounge around in after a treatment. However I was told that there is a new relaxation room coming very soon after the refurb. Breakfast and dinner was fantastic in the brasserie and lunch in the conservatory was lovely. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms spotlessly clean and attention to detail is great. They even came into our room while we were having a treatment and closed our curtains ready for the evening. I cannot thank all the staff at Sopwell House for making our stay so comfortable. We definitely will be back after the refurb x

    Owner Response
    Thank you for leaving you review of your recent stay at Sopwell House.

    We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and was well looked after by the Sopwell House team. Jenny, in particular was very happy to receive a personal mention.

    We are very excited about the opening of our new spa facilities and I look forward to welcoming you (and especially your friend who couldn't make it) in the near future.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Afternoon Tea a plenty

    by frances130853 on 2019-06-10 02:59 am

    Four of us went for afternoon tea. We were seated in the Bar lounge which was slightly more informal than the restaurant setting and although the tables are a little small there is a side table to hold teapots etc.... we really liked the area. The tea as usual was lovely, plenty of food, you can order more as often as you like and can ask for any of the sandwiches, scones, cakes you might want or leave it to the waiters. The staff were delightful, could not do enough for us. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to go back. Oh yes and any of the food you have left they box it up for you to take home.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your afternoon tea experience at Sopwell House.

    I am pleased that you enjoyed the delicious treats that our chefs have prepared for you.

    My team are very happy to read the positive comments that you have made and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Wedding anniversary not as expected

    by BluebellSwan on 2019-06-09 05:58 am

    Just got back from our stay at Sopwell House.
    The hotel is in a beautiful area with beautiful views of the countryside. Rabbits and cows just roaming around- very peaceful.
    Check in was smooth, i have informed the hotel that it is our anniversary ( I have booked this as a surprise for my husband) and the reception asked us what we celebrating. She wasn't very attentive and it was quite frustrating. Cheekily after reading all the reviews below and their free upgrades I was hoping for one too. That didn't happen. I know I won't be celebrating our 10th anniversary here next year :-) .
    When we arrived in our room we had little bag of macaroons on the table waiting for us with a little happy anniversary note. Cute.
    The view was ok ish, had a view of a roof covered in a fake grass. But I guess we didn't plan to stay in our room for long. Bathroom was large. Sky TV was a nice plus.
    We had nice dressing gowns in our room but no slippers. Had to ask for them and then had them delivered to our room. No slippers but flip flops. Too small for our feet ?. I wish I knew they don't provide proper hotel slippers as I would brought my own.
    Plenty of places to seat, eat, drink or just relax. The outside was beautiful,shame there isn't many places to sit and relax there.
    We decided to eat in the Cocktail bar, service was amazing, our server lady was super attentive and very funny! I wish I got her name! She got us extra table as we needed the space for all the plates of food we ordered! The tuna melt was out of this world!
    Spa was very busy, all sun beds taken or just covered with towels from guests already gone. Staff was very good at removing these. Morning visit was much better- much emptied and more relaxing.

    These were the good bits. Now to the bad points.
    Not getting anything special for our anniversary was a bit disappointing but I can live with that.
    No fridge in the room.
    No slippers.
    Being woken up at midnight and then at 3:46AM by loud idiots running around and screaming and shouting. Also door slamming was well annoying. Not the hotels fault but if you let pillocks stay there then you get other upset guests. I definitely didn't have good night sleep.
    View from the room wasn't good.
    Spa packed and no many places to relax at. I'm sure once the new spa opens it will be much better.

    Not as relaxing as I hoped for but the food and service was very good.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing to spend you anniversary here with us at Sopwell House.

    I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the cocktail bar and found your waitress very attentive and you felt very well looked after and experienced and out of this world tuna melt. I have passed your compliments onto the Chef.

    It is regrettable that you were disturbed by other Hotel guests and it is always a disappointment when guests do not behave courteously or consider others who are staying in the Hotel. It was unfortunate that slippers were missed from your room and we apologise if that has caused you any discomfort. Larger size flip-flops are always readily available upon request, and we have put a note in our system for future reference.

    I am sorry to read that you did not feel that your anniversary was given sufficient recognition although you did acknowledge that you received an anniversary card and macaroons. Hotels in general do not provide complimentary upgrades as a matter of course for those celebrating special occasions, and we believe that we are not the exception to that.

    I am sorry that this is a deciding factor in your plans to stay with us again. However, should you change your mind and plan to spend your 10th anniversary with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will ensure that you will have a memorable time with us, especially with the new Spa opening imminently.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

  • Quiet(ish) Hen party weekend

    by sheadster on 2019-06-07 10:02 am

    Despite a shaky start on check in (concerning their insistence on swiping your card with a ?100 transaction instead of ?0 as security) the staff couldn't have been more helpful over the course of the weekend. The food was excellent. The spa is small and fairly limited in terms of the space but all our party who had treatments said they were lovely. My double room (single occupancy) was small but comfortable and clean. There are plenty of areas in and around the hotel to congregate and enjoy drinks/ catch up when you're not in the spa. We were welcomed as a hen party and there were plenty of other larger groups staying over the weekend, including a wedding. Overall a nice, enjoyable experience.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for choosing Sopwell House for your recent hen weekend. I am glad that my team has looked after all of you and you all enjoyed a great time together for this special occasion.

    As an industry norm, pre-authorisations are not unusual and I am glad that this this not detract you from having, a great time at Sopwell House.

    I hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

    AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.