Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Algonquin Resort


    The Algonquin Resort
 in St. Andrews By-The Sea
    The Algonquin Resort
 in St. Andrews By-The Sea

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1301 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Very disappointed in the Marriott Algonquin Hotel

    by paultI8874HR on 2020-03-11 08:32 am

    This is our second time staying at the Marriott Algonquin Hotel and our very last. When we checked in to our room we noticed the bed sheets had not been changed (hairs all in the bed) and that the room tables and surfaces were dirty and had cup ring stains, etc. We had to call the front desk and they came and changed the sheets. How does a 4-star hotel not change the bed sheets between guests! The common areas were dirty and overall it just didn't look like the hotel was in good shape compared to the summer months. The worst part was the hotel pool, which was literally green and cloudy and there were green scum stains on the pool walls. The hot tub was a dark green colour and there was no way we were going in there. I saw several people come in to the pool and turn away after seeing how dirty the pool, hot tub, and floors were. I started feeling itchy almost right away and got out after 10min. It was March Break so it was very busy, but that's no excuse and I have never ever seen a hotel pool that dirty in my life. The breakfast and brunch buffet areas were dirty with food all over the floors, and the takeaway coffee area was just filthy all over the surfaces. I only wish I could get all my money back. The Algonquin Hotel is just in a shambles at this time and with the threat of coronavirus, cleanliness should be the #1 priority for hotel staff. I never leave comments or reviews about hotels ever and I am a frequent traveler. That is how bad this hotel experience was.

    Owner Response
    Dear Mr. Teniere,

    We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

    Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority. On behalf of the entire team at the Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection, I sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. As we had a busy March break week I am sad to hear this had a negative effect on the cleanliness of the resort. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the hotel teams to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations.

    As a valued guest, thank you for choosing us to accommodate you during your travels. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to St Andrews!


    Sincerely,
    Fiona Cunningham
    Guest Services Manager
    The Algonquin Resort
    fiona.cunningham@algonquinresort.com
    506-529-8823

    FCCUN051, Front Office Manager at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

  • We loved this place

    by nulautre91 on 2020-03-10 05:41 pm

    this place has character, class and history !! Every single person we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful, especially a young fellow named Nigel. Nigel greeted us, helped with our luggage and even did a "ghost tour" later in the night. We were especially excited about the two resident labs Sidney and Bentley !! We ate at Braxton's, the hotel restaurant, although the menu is limited it was very good. I am a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish so there was only one dish for me but it was good. My husband had the cheese board, which he really enjoyed. We loved this place so much we stayed again at the end of the week, stopping on our way home to stay the night. We were surprised by how many families were there, this is definitely a family friendly place. And although we don't have children my husband is a children's book author so we love seeing all the kids having a wonderful time. Highly recommend !!

  • Eat, Laugh & Stay Package

    by Kyoung3288 on 2020-03-09 01:39 pm

    My husband and I go here a few times a year for a weekend getaway, including every July for Canada day. It never disappoints! Amazing atmosphere, food and service. It's easily our favourite place.

    In January, we purchased the " Eat, Laugh & Stay package" with a few other couples. This included the Yuk Yuks Comedy Show, buffet dinner and a night's stay. This was a great night out in cold January! We will definitely do it again.

  • A treasure

    by Christine M on 2020-03-06 01:48 am

    Note: if you are from the US, you are near the Canadian US boarder and they do not use daylight savings time. Your phones and equipment are constantly changing time zones depending where you are on the facility and town.

    We went on our anniversary. A remarkable place with wonderful history. Take advantage of the free tour of the facility that includes stories of the ghost inhabitants and is full of tunnels. The place is fully loaded with pools and restaurants. The rooms are rather small but have sophisticated sense of luxury about them - huge down feather blankets and pillows. Our view was not outstanding, looking over some sort of tank. The main building is full of charm. You can leave the windows open for a cool brisk sea air with no worries of bugs. The resort is situated in walking distance to a quaint sea town that offers live concerts and great walking paths. Truly a treasure for those who enjoy luxury, history and the outdoors. Just walk up and down Main Street and enjoy! Be sure to get the walking map if the town and trails.

  • Amazing stay

    by vanessaquarre on 2020-03-04 09:21 am

    From our arrival 'til our departure, this has been an amazing getaway.

    Our little ones loved it! Even more since Nigel "recognized" our princesses right away!

    "Maman, how did he know that we are princesses?".

    They really liked him and both enjoyed his kids friendly ghosts tour.

    We had a room in the newly renovated section and it was great. We were a bit disappointed that we couldn't rent a movie or that there was no dvd players but no big deal. There was plenty of things to do and we really enjoyed the pool/gigantic slide.

    ? We will be back soon!


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.