Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Campbell House Curio, A Collection by Hilton

    The Campbell House Curio, A Collection by Hilton
 in Lexington
    The Campbell House Curio, A Collection by Hilton
 in Lexington


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1088 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews


    by amanda041089 on 2020-01-14 12:41 am

    I made the mistake of having my wedding at The Campbell House a few months ago. I don't even know where to begin with this place; I can honestly write an entire essay on how awful it is, but I'll touch on the main points here. If you are considering hosting a wedding or any large event here, RUN! Run fast and run far away! If you got tricked into signing a contract with them already for an upcoming wedding or event, I would seriously pay the penalty to get out of it. This place is a disgrace to the entire Hilton brand. There wasn't a single thing they did right when executing my wedding here. Despite meeting with them before in person and communicating by emails, they managed to screw EVERY single thing up. They love bragging about their newly remodeled areas, but they literally put lipstick on a pig. The AC went out during our wedding! Everyone was sweating and had to keep exiting the room to cool off. How does the AC go out in a brand-new place? They didn't have the tables set up or the bar in the correct area, which we made clear the week leading up to the wedding how it should be set up. I even sent them a labeled diagram of the setup and a thorough description! They never put champagne on the tables - our DJ and wedding party were scrambling to get it out to tables before the toasts. The servers were basically useless and unavailable the entire time. The extent of what they did the entire night was bring the food out to people, and that is literally it. They didn't even bother clearing the plates after dinner! The staff never lit the candles on the tables! They let candles sit on the tables unlit the entire evening. The bar ran out of basic items like orange juice and even vodka and never replenished it, despite us paying for an OPEN BAR. They even ran out of glasses half way through and instead of washing and bringing out more, they started serving drinks in paper coffee cups - it was so tacky and embarrassing! They stopped the bar an hour early, when we paid for an extra hour. We had to scramble to find someone to get it fixed, which wasn't easy to do since the staff was unavailable. I am absolutely appalled by the (lack of) service we received. The appetizers they set out ran out almost immediately, as did the plates for them. Our entire wedding party and families were not present for what was suppose to be the cocktail hour, so they didn't even have enough appetizers out to feed 80% of our wedding guests, let alone the full number of guests that we paid for. All that was left was some cheese and napkins. The food was atrocious and flavorless. They served fish with no sauce, a plain sweet potato with no toppings on it- not even butter. The servers never even came around to refill water glasses a single time. Like many other reviews state, the overall condition of this hotel is old, dark, dusty, and outdated. I am so upset we gave this hotel a chance and were convinced that it was going to be remodeled beautifully before our wedding. I don't think the room they gave us could even constitute as a suite- an average hotel room anywhere else was bigger and nicer than that. It was also on the opposite side of the hotel from the ballroom our wedding was held in, which made no sense. It took about 15-20 minutes to walk between the "suite" and the ballroom because areas were still closed for renovation. Our hair and makeup people even laughed at the fact that they tried passing that room off as a suite! There is not adequate signage around the hotel to find your way around. Everyone was getting lost just trying to get to the lobby. If the AC not working in the newly renovated ballroom is any indication of the rest of the "remodels" this hotel is under, they are in serious trouble! They have absolutely no business trying to host weddings and large events- they couldn't even handle our small and simple wedding of 60 people; I can't imagine how bad they screw up larger events! Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this place. There are so many more beautiful venues around that actually know what they are doing and can properly staff it! This isn't even all of the problems we encountered, but I think it gets my point across and can hopefully save some other couples the huge headache and embarrassment if you are even considering this place. If you are tricked into believing them and do decide on going with this place, make sure you get EVERYTHING they "promise" you in writing and signed. We didn't get half of the things they told us we would get when we signed the contract! They did end up giving us a significant refund due to our troubles, but it still wasn't worth having the wedding here, and what should have been the best day of my life turned into an absolute nightmare! If I had to redo it, I would without hesitation pay triple the amount and have it somewhere else, where the staff knows what they are doing, and be able to look back on the day with fond memories.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apology for the problems your encountered. I hope the compensation we offered you was acceptable. We have used your feedback to correct all of these issues.

    Marty R, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Nicely Remodeled, Charming, Great New Fitness Center

    by G V on 2019-12-17 02:49 am

    We were in Lexington for one night and this was a great place for us. The building was charming, the rooms were comfortable, the staff was friendly, and we really appreciated the size and quality of the fitness center.

    Owner Response
    Thanks for the positive feedback! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our new Bourbon Bar & Restaurant will be open next month. Hope to see you again very soon.

    Marty R, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Old Historic Hotel with big stairs

    by Maggie I on 2019-12-16 09:24 am

    This is an older historical hotel that has a nice, well designed lobby and restaurant. The challenge for me at this property is that there are steep stairs going up to all the rooms. If you have bag and need the elevator it is located in the back on the hotel which seemed like a half of a mile away. I found it challenging to navigate. The front desk gave us a map of the layout upon arrival. Above all, it would have been nice for the front desk to insist on showing us our room as for that would have saved us effort after our days travels. I ended up getting lost looking for the elevator and had to return to the front desk to ask for assistance. We took the steep stairs which was a challenge with our luggage. I found the room to be fine. Its an old hotel and has some wall issues from being old that have been painted over. The larger room was accommodating. The bed is very comfortable and we had towels, shampoo, and a nice shower. There is a coffee Kureg in each room and we upgraded to a sofa so that we had a sitting area. Breakfast was great. Parking was available for free out front and the location was nice. I would not stay here again but its a good option for someone who does not have a lot of bags and just wants a nice place to sleep and eat briefly.

    Owner Response
    Thanks for the feedback. Please accept my apology for the problem you encountered with the location of your room. The Hotel was originally built in 1951 and did not have an Elevator. Three have been added thru the years. Please try us again and request a room near one of the Elevators. Hope to see you again!

    Marty R, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Tired hotel

    by mjboone on 2019-12-11 07:15 am

    The staff at this hotel was absolutely wonderful. The front desk staff met us at our entry door to help us with our luggage, the friendliness could not be better.
    Lucky for the Hilton you can train people to be good! They did a wonderful job with the staff.

    On the other hand the room and hallways reeked of odors And stains from days gone by. The smell was the hardest thing for me to except. We would not stay here again as it did not feel clean and sanitary.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear that our Staff treated you well. I will be sure to share this with the Team. Please accept my apology for the problems you encountered with the Hotel. We are currently in the process of Hotel Renovations. We are installing new Carpet and Wall Vinyl in the Guest Room corridors, along with improved lighting. We are upgrading the rooms to include paint, new window treatments, 55" TV's as well as other enchantments to give them a clean and updated look and feel. This work is underway now and will be complete in the late Spring of 2020. Please try us again soon.

    Marty R, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review

  • Very cool hotel.

    by csensintaffar on 2019-12-09 03:52 pm

    Under renovations so when they are completed the hotel will be very nice. At the time of my stay the conference and restaurant were being completed and the rooms were next. The completed part was very nice.

    Owner Response
    Thanks for the feedback! We agree this is a "very cool" Hotel. All of our Meeting & Event Space is complete. So is our "state-of-the-art" Fitness Center. The new Bourbon Bar & Restaurant will be open in January. Updates to our Guests rooms will be finished in late Spring. Hope to see you again soon.

    Marty R, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review


International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.