Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Jefferson Hotel

    The Jefferson Hotel
 in Richmond
    The Jefferson Hotel
 in Richmond


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1588 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • The Brunch

    by Redmax3 on 2019-12-05 12:09 am

    Unreal Sunday brunch, the best by far we have ever had. Plus the room is beautifully decorated this time of year. Well worth the cost! All the foods are fantastic and the waitstaff was perfect. The selection of foods and desserts were awesome and made to order items were spot on.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review of Champagne Sunday brunch at The Jefferson. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, service and holiday decor. We hope that you will join us for brunch again soon.

    JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

  • A beautiful hotel in the heart of Richmond!

    by VirginiaSnowbirds on 2019-12-01 02:54 am

    This is a must see hotel even if you don't book a room here. Wonderful Sunday brunches and several dining options as well at TJ's or Lemaire. Make sure you visit during the holidays. Their tree and decorations are the best! Lovely staircase reminds me of Gone with the Wind days of yore. An easy walk from the Cathedral of the Sacred Heart or The Altria Theater, but lots of on- street parking available.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review!

    JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

  • Not Overly Impressed

    by KimJean2013 on 2019-11-30 09:30 am

    The concierge and bell stand has awesome customer service. Our biggest issue was the inconsistent water temperature in the shower. My husband took cold showers two of the three days. They attempted to fix after we informed them of the issues but it was not resolved. The restaurant options are limited as reservations are a must. The coffee service in the lobby was disappointing - both times I stopped by the creamers were empty and there was empty cups and trash about. The hotel certainly has a ton of history and it's grandioseness is worth a visit.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the water temperatures and lobby coffee service during your recent visit. We are terribly sorry that these were not to our normal standard. Our Front Office manager has attempted to reach you directly and looks forward to speaking so that we can more personally address your helpful comments.

    JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

  • Breakfast

    by Courtown52 on 2019-11-29 05:48 am

    We checked in on Thanksgiving, the hotel was beautiful, and our room was comfortable. Be aware you need reservations for breakfast. The Lemaire restaurant was closed, though we were informed it served breakfast.When we went down to TJ's there was a long wait for a table and we got to the top of the line we were told we needed reservations or wait for 20 minutes. Nobody in line knew of the reservation policy. There were many unoccupied tables that needed to be cleared. There appeared to be a staffing problem which coincidentally also happened at their sister property on Kiwah island when we spent New Years there a few years ago. We ended up, like several hotel guests, going elsewhere for breakfast. The restaurant staff were totally unapologetic. Definitely will not return.

    Owner Response
    Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you experienced when trying to have breakfast during your Thanksgiving stay. Our Director of Food and Beverage has reached out to you directly and we thank you in advance for taking time to respond to him so that we might better address your concerns. We will hope to speak with you soon.

    JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

  • Everything top notch but the mattress

    by Bayturtle on 2019-11-24 10:51 am

    Gorgeous historic hotel. Lemaire, the high end restaurant, served extremely fresh and inventive dinner, even though only bar seating was available. All staff members were friendly, accommodating, and treated us well. They exemplified excellent hotel service. Our room exceeded expectations, especially size, layout and bathing area. But, and it's a big but, the king mattress and bedding were very uncomfortable and we had a poor night's sleep. Reasons are: scratchy poly-rich sheets; scratchy feather bed; extremely hard mattress that was so ungrounded that we felt every single move of each other. Non-down pillows were too small and down pillows smelled that yucky down smell. We pulled out the down comforter because it was too hot and inserted the poly type lighter comforter but it was not king size and made for cold edges. Finally in the middle of the night I got up and laid the lovely cotton towels over the bottom sheet to provide a softer sleeping material. At these prices, I would have expected a very soft and crisp 100% cotton percale, no poly bedding and far better pillows. Location was excellent for a one night stay passing through on the way to Florida.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your stay over in Richmond. We were sorry to hear that you did find our bedding comfortable and did not receive the excellent night's rest that we strive to provide. Your helpful feedback has been provided to our Housekeeping Department. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again at which time we can assist in advance of your arrival with the removal of the feather bed and alternate pillows. Thank you again!

    JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review


International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.