Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel

    The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel
 in Yogyakarta
    The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery by Sofitel
 in Yogyakarta


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4071 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Hotel and Food were amazing!

    by Mary F on 2019-08-25 12:27 am

    The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Loved our time at the hotel. There was a multitude of breakfast options (stations) -- loved the Indonesian foods. The woman making and serving the Jambu was charming and the juice was excellent.

  • Really nice hotel

    by agold2019 on 2019-08-25 09:57 am

    Really nice hotel. Great service except for one little thing. Staff were great and food also very good.
    Only issue I had was when asked for an ashtray on the last day, I was given not only a dirty ashtray but with a spent butt in it.
    If it was not for that, I would of given a 5 Star review.
    I will however go back to this hotel as it is a nice hotel.

  • A great stay !

    by ArmandoA257 on 2019-08-22 010:50 pm

    Although the check in was a little bit rough since it was a system error on Expedia the staff solved the problem as soon as problem. The breakfast was amazing and had good options. Usually at early morning it is a little bit more crowded but still very OK to be. All the staff it was so welcoming and caring.
    It is a very central hotel still have in mind that traffic it may be chaotic so when asking for taxis or grabs be aware of the time.

    Owner Response
    Dear ArmandoA257,

    Heartfelt thanks you for your graciousness to provide us with this detailed and wonderful feedback of your recent experience at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

    We are all pleased to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the facilities although an issue came with the check in process.
    As I myself had a conversation with some of your family members, I do thank you for the happiness your family member's share during your stay here that you like our heritage building and the cheaper shopping stuffs in Yogyakarta than in your original country so that your family members had a good time to shop here.
    And hope you have a wonderful trip to Lombok and Gilis after this.

    Our doors are always open to welcoming you back and The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta team and I are looking forward to this moment.

    Christina Maya
    Assistant Guest Experience Manager

    ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Assistant Guest Experience Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery, responded to this review

  • Five stars?????

    by GriaN2 on 2019-08-15 06:16 pm

    A five star hotel, to me, means a top notch, world class hotel.
    So, I had high expectations for The Phoenix Mgallery Sofitel considering its 5 stars.
    The first impression when my daughter and I entered the lobby was very nice-- beautiful decor and a nice feel. We were then asked to wait in the heritage lounge while reception finalised our check-in registration (which was also a very nice room).
    For this stay, we had booked the executive room-- the highest room category for this hotel; same as a suite.

    the followings are the things that did not support a five star hotel category belonging to Mgallery Sofitel group:

    1. Although the lounge is beautiful in the olden heritage style, the waiting time for registration took quite a long time.

    2. At first, we were given room 221. First impressions of the room were very nice and very spacious. However, there was a constant loud clacking noise that I initially thought was coming from the AC unit.
    Two hours later when I returned from having tea in the hotel's fountain cafe, I reported the noise problem to reception and they sent up an engineer to investigate.
    When the engineer came, he informed us that the noise was actually coming from the kitchen's exhaust in the next room and said he would fix it with the kitchen staff. He then disappeared and an hour later, the clacking noise was still continuing.

    3. I requested a room change to somewhere less noisy which was given to me (room 335). However, I personally don't think the hotel should be offering a room with the exhaust problem (room 221) until it is fixed.

    4. For dinner, I made a reservation with the hotel's restaurant at 7pm. The table I selected purposefully had dining chairs and was suitable for dining, rather than the low coffee table which would have made it a bit difficult to eat.
    My reservation was confirmed by the restaurant staff. When we came down at 7pm, we found our table had been given to another guest.
    When I asked the staff about it, they told me there had been a 'seating plan change' (even though the table arrangement remained exactly the same as earlier in the afternoon) and so were 'unable to keep my reservation'.
    The staff were going to organise another table by repositioning the low coffee table but I decided that I had enough. My daughter and I left to dine outside the hotel.

    Overall, the hotel is beautiful, but on closer inspection, we noticed signs of it being a little run down and tired. The shower head holder didn't work properly in room 335. There was a black rim around the bath-tub drain hole, grey markings on the tub itself as well as the grouting. A wall switch next to the bed didn't work and a chipped teapot spout.

    The Phoenix is a nice looking hotel with a lot on offer, however customer service was slow and aspects of the hotel (not the decor) were honestly a bit disappointing.

    Perhaps if the maintenance standard were to be upgraded and more training given to staff in customer service and management then this hotel will live up to it's five star title and being in the Mgallery Sofitel group.

    Owner Response
    Dear GriaN2,

    We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience following your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of this hotel. However, we noticed that you were very disappointed with your room accommodation and the service especially during the dinner time. On behalf of all the Team, we would like to apologize for not being able to deliver the service that our brand are so well known for and we were regret to know that your stay was not as expected. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the team where action plans have been put in place to address your remarks and to ensure our standards are being met and all our guests experience is flawless. We hope to have opportunity to welcoming you back with a much a better experience.

    Best Regards,
    Christina Maya
    Assistant Guest Experience Manager

    ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery, responded to this review

  • Excellent hotel in Yogya

    by Martijn S on 2019-08-14 01:20 pm

    Best stay in Yogyakarta. We really loved this colonial style hotel. Rooms are great and comfortable. The hotel offers really good food in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live cooking. Just tell the cook what you want and he or she prepares it.
    The hotel als has a comfortable swimming pool with a shade area on the hottest part of the day. The staff is very friendly and make you feel a real guest.

    Owner Response
    Dear 929martijns,

    Thank you for sharing your experience during stay at The Phoenix Yogyakarta. We are delighted to read that you had such a memorable stay with us. We do appreciate your highlight on the room, the dining experience, the charming swimming pool and the friendly staff. We will share your positive feedback to encourage the team here to always keep giving the good performance for our guest.

    It is our hope to have you here again whenever your travel brings you to Yogyakarta.

    Best Regards,
    Christina Maya
    Assistant Guest Experience Manager.

    ThePhoenixYogyakarta, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery, responded to this review


International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.