Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

La Valencia Hotel


    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego
    La Valencia Hotel
 in La Jolla/San Diego

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1411 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Thanksgiving?

    by 11GlobalTraveller11 on 2019-12-01 02:57 am

    Nice staff, great location, but once again a monopoly leads to bad management. A tired hotel. Rooms in need of renovation. A mandatory $30 a day "resort fee" (rip-off fee?) for WiFi and "use of the pool" (really? During a cold Thanksgiving?) capped the experience.

    Owner Response
    Dear 11GlobalTraveller11,
    It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel for Thanksgiving. While we're delighted to hear you experienced the warm hospitality of our staff, we regret that your room did not exceed your expectations. We've shared your feedback with our team and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to La Jolla.

    LaValenciaHotel1926, Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Excellent hotel, friendly staff clean and comfortable room

    by Duke2561 on 2019-11-29 02:23 pm

    When we checked in we were greeted by Michelle at the front desk.
    She exemplified hospitality and professionalism and ensured that our accomodations were to our liking
    Everything about this hotel is excellent from check in to the room to the restaurant
    The dining room has wonderful with excellent ambiance. The location of the hotel is perfect for a visit to La Jolla.

    Owner Response
    Dear Duke2561,
    Thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Valencia Hotel and for taking the time to highlight Michelle's outstanding service. It's always a pleasure to hear when our team leaves such an impression. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, especially dining at The Med, and look forward to your return visit to the heart of La Jolla Village.

    LaValenciaHotel1926, Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Incredibly Disappointing!

    by Wpjjr on 2019-11-27 08:00 am

    We were very disappointed in the hospitality and room quality. The room was poorly decorated, without the most basic amenities. It did not match the description on-line. We ordered room service one morning but there was no where to sit and eat. When we raised issues with the hotel manager, she made a modest adjustment in price for one night. It was still the most overpriced, worst value hotel we have ever experienced. The lack of hospitality was surprising for a hotel that pretends to be a 5*!experience. The visit was incredibly disappointing, especially since we got married in the hotel. We will never return nor recommend to family and friends.

    Owner Response
    Dear Wpjjr,
    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We're honored to have welcomed you back having been a special setting for your wedding, but regret that this stay did not continue to exceed your expectations.
    We're pleased you were able to speak with our front office manager during your visit, and have also shared your feedback directly with the front office team to continue to enhance the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the five-star service we're known for.

    LaValenciaHotel1926, Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • A decent stay!

    by TravelCQ on 2019-11-23 011:34 pm

    We had a pretty good stay here for 8 nights. Super location, good suite with great ocean view and overall a good feel. The hotel is almost there to be a 5 star Grande Dame, but unfortunately it's not.

    Typically when I stay for more than just a few days in this type of hotel, at some point the manager or the like will greet you and ask for your well-being. But not here. Even more surprisingly at check out they did not even ask how was your stay? Maybe they don't care or they think they are too hot anyway. Something wrong in the management/training for sure.

    Another management issue is that I was able to book this significantly cheaper on hotels.com than on their own website. What a pity, wasting money to pay OTAs but hey it's their choice.

    Another really bad thing was a wardrobe door that was never fixed through the entire stay. I did not request it - but when you are paying more than $1,000 a night you do expect that the housekeeping reports any issues back and that they get fixed.

    Another funny one is $11 for a glass of milk room service. That's almost robbery.

    Good valet, good service.

    Also the MED restaurant was nice.

    Owner Response
    Dear TravelCQ,
    Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in La Jolla. While we're pleased you enjoyed our location and signature restaurant, we're disappointed to hear that your experience at the front desk was not reflective of the five-star service our hotel is known for. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and have shared your review with our front office team to continue to enhance the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

    LaValenciaHotel1926, Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review

  • Favorite Hotel in La Jolla!!

    by SunnySoFloGirl on 2019-11-17 011:14 pm

    The La Valencia hotel is easily my favorite hotel in La Jolla (a San Diego area) and for so many reasons! Rooms are romantic and so quaint, it rests right on the ocean where you can hear the waves crashing, service is beyond 5 stars and they have the most incredible Sunday brunch that I highly recommend!! You can literally watch the waves crash upon the hotel while enjoying brunch and also hear seals from the ocean! View is incredible from every part of the hotel, which just cannot be beat! This is THE PLACE to stay in La Jolla, CA without a doubt! I guarantee it will it disappoint!!

    Owner Response
    Dear SunnySoFloGirl,
    We're honored to be one of your favorite hotels in La Jolla. Thank you for taking the time to highlight our five-star service and weekend brunch. On behalf of our team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    LaValenciaHotel1926, Manager at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this review


Close

International Numbers

Austria 08000706176
Belgium 080081830
France 805542721
Germany 8007241217
Ireland 1800995320
Italy 800979444
Netherlands 08000200956
Norway 80054304
Spain 900814719
Switzerland 0800001798
UK 8009179622
Book by Phone: +1 866 670 3764
International
Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.